We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort if you don't mind the trains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great resort if you don't mind the trains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I would have given this place five stars if the noise from the trains didn't leave such a bad impression with me.

I know it's convenient to Amtrak and Metro, but from 5:00am to about midnight every few minutes another train came by, ugh.

Everything else about the property was great, but I won't stay again because of that.

Room Tip: As far away from the train tracks as you can
See more room tips
Green Features: They don't clean the rooms daily so I guess that saves the environment :)
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1757Wyndham, General Manager at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello Jeff S.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay at the Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Resort. We sincerely appreciate all feedback we receive so we can improve our service and property in a way that always exceeds our guests expectations. I am glad that your stay was very good, overall. I do apologize that the train disturbed what should always be a restful and rejuvenating stay.

The Front Office team at the resort always does their best to accomodate our owners and guests with a unit that matches their personal preference and needs. Please feel free to reach out to us if you do decide to give our lovely resort another opportunity to deliver on your needs and I will ensure that we find a way to accomodate you for a more quiet unit location at our resort.

Again, thank you very much for sharing your experience and I am pleased to hear that most aspects of your stay were satisfactory.

Sincerely,

John Lewis
Resort Manager
703-837-3400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    66
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
95
67
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great first impression as we drove up to the Wyndham. Very clean. The front desk staff were all very personable and very helpful. Evan made sure we were aware of the free trolley into Old Town ( which was across the street), and told us about some of his favorite restaurants in the area. He even made sure to acknowledge our anniversary!
We stayed on the 1st floor room. I say " room", but it was actually more like a condo or small apartment. We had a large kitchen, living room, bedroom, and a huge bathroom with a separate shower and tub. The room was clean and everything was in working order. We never cooked, so I really can't say much more about the kitchen.
After getting settled in, we left to explore the town and was asked by two separate employees if we were satisfied with our room. We were also reminded of the free cold drinks that were available in the lobby.
Old Town is a nice area with little cafe's, shops, and restaurants. It was a nice place to relax and enjoy dinner, but we didn't do much else there, since we had to leave at 5:45am the next morning.
We took the Metro into DC at 5:45am, where we connected with Amtrak at Union Station to visit NYC for a few days. As we were leaving the lobby early in the morning, we asked the security guard where we should go. He told us to follow him and he would take us there faster. He personally walked us down the elevator and out a back exit. The Metro was across the street, so he made it very easy.
Overall, I was impressed with this Wyndham Resort and the staff there, and would love to visit it again next time I plan a trip to the area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1757Wyndham, General Manager at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello SDamron1,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience from your recent stay at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Resort. I am glad to hear that your expectations have been exceeded with our spacious units and our staff services. I will be sure to share your positive remarks with the team here at the resort. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you for your next stay.

Sincerely,

John Lewis
Resort Manager
703-837-3400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
564 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We are Gold Wyndham owners and have stayed in many of the Wyndham resorts. This was one of our favorites, and we will definitely return. I read some of the reviews and am always surprised when people complain they don't have daily maid service. This is not a hotel. Be aware if you book as other than an owner. On the other hand, we had a one bedroom deluxe and it had so many towels, etc., there was no need to reuse if you didn't choose to do so.
Our reasons for 5 stars: we were not hounded by the sales team. Location: steps from the Alexandria trolley (free) and two blocks from the Metro (we bought Smart cards for $10 that gave us enough to go into central DC and back 2 times). Building was attractive and lovely landscaping. Nice lobby. Units were clean, functioning, and had comfortable seating (thank you for two good lounge chairs and sofa). Wifi was good when we stayed.It was quiet. I think we heard one train in the evening and we liked it! Free parking next door and free laundry (though not in the unit as usual). The staff was super..prompt, friendly. Not sure what is available for kids. Can't say enough positives!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1757Wyndham, General Manager at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello Torte_Sue,

I am glad to hear we have been able to exceed your expectations during your visit to the Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Resort with our service and property location. Thank you for your kind words and the information you've noted regarding property amenities. As a valued Wyndham VIP Owner, our team takes pride in providing a warm and inviting atmosphere so you are able to get the most out of your vacation time. We look forward to seeing you again during your next stay and thank you again for reaching out.

Sincerely,

John Lewis
Resort Manager
703-837-3400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here at the Wyndham for a week with my family on our summer vacation to see Washington DC. It is very easy access to the metro and King Street has a trolley that you can ride up and down the street that is full of wonderful shops and restaurants. The hotel it's self is very pretty, has a game room and a movie room complete with popcorn! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only downside is that they do not clean your room or give you fresh sheet/towels. If you are like me, the ladt thing that you want to do while on vacation is house work and laundry!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahar A, Old Town Alexandria at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Freedomangelbon/ Guest,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Resort to spend your summer vacation with the family this year, our strategic location that is a walking distance to King Street metro station, from that station there are direct lines "Blue and Yellow" to nation's capital Washington D.C. very convenient and fun trip. Also our location on king street the beginning of Old town
is about one mile fun, walking or riding the free trolley through wonderful shops and restaurants!

We truly proud of our well maintained property and friendly/helpful staff...

We are sorry to hear about the less pleasant side of your stay, for the cleaning part; if you are an Owner guest or a Guest that is staying more than a week, you get clean and tidy service on the fourth day of your stay! unlike the hotels where you get the room cleaned everyday. But you could have requested any number of clean sheets or towels by calling the front desk...

However, we are willing to see you again in our Resort sometimes next year and will be more than happy to be of your service, thank you again for taking to write this review, have a wonderful day

Sincerely,

Sahar Al-Shaibani
NE Region and Resort Admin
(703) 837-3400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We totally enjoyed our stay at this hotel, even if it started out a little tough as we wandered around trying to find it. (The front door is in an inner courtyard behind the Hilton.) The reception greeting was friendly and helpful, cookies and coffee always available as is the PC/printer room. Internet was a little slow, but worked okay. The location is amazing, right across the street from a Metro station--and, no, it is not noisy because of that. Starbucks on the block, Whole Foods a very few blocks away, and right on the free KIng Street bus line that takes you through Alexandria. As for the room, the bed was comfy, unit was nicely decorated, and the kitchen was well stocked. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1757Wyndham, General Manager at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Maureen P.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience from your stay with us. I am truly glad you enjoyed your stay and our property location. It sounds like you found the little extra touches at the resort like the cookies and refreshment station to be to your satisfaction, I am glad to hear this.

I will look into possible solutions for the resort signage and work with the operations team to ensure the wifi signal is at maximum capability. I truly appreciate this valuable feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience and property offerings.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit. Do not hesitate to reach out to me if I can be of assistance to you. Thank you, again.

Sincerely,

John Lewis
Resort Manager
703-837-3400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Never laughed so much in our life. Place was convenient to everything. There were six of us and we separated into twos and went to see what we wanted to see. Easy no driving, near the trolley and the metro. We met for supper, they had popcorn in the lobby for us to fill a huge pan and take to our room. Ran for breakfast across the street in the AM to Dunkin Donuts.
I will be going back here with a group, can't think of a better location to do it all.

Room Tip: Three bedroom when you go with a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1757Wyndham, General Manager at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Diane062,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay. I am glad to hear of your exceptional getaway with your close friends. It sounds as though you got to do many of activities you planned. We are excited to welcome you back for your next stay. If there is any way we can assist you in planning area activities or excursions, please feel free to reach out to me and I will ensure we exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

John Lewis
Resort Manager
703-837-3400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great suites with kitchen, dining area, and two separate bathrooms. Nice perks like game room, workout room. Not too far of a walk (maybe .7 miles) to area with shops and restaurants. Only problem is you have to pay to park (but this is common for Old Town).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahar A, Wyndham Old Town Alexandira at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear K L/ Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write that review, we are glad to know that you liked your unit, and Resorts amenities... we have a great Theater/Game room in lobby Area and a great, well equipped gym room in second floor!

Our strategic location on King street at the beginning of Old Town, is about one mile fun, walking through Home to some of the “100 Very Best Restaurants 2013” by Washingtonian magazine! as well as the Washington Post dubbed as a stylish shopping destination and The Wall Street Journal agreed!

Unfortunately, you have to pay to park in Old Town, though... it's Free on-street parking and generally limited to two hours, from 8 am. to 2 am., Monday through Saturday, and 11 am. Sunday until 2 am. Monday. But there's FREE " underground parking in our facility for all of our guests. Thank you again, we're looking forward your next visit.

Sincerely,

Sahar Al-Shaibani
NE Region and Resort Admin
(703) 837-3400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Address: 1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.