We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandson visit to DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grandson visit to DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a great location! Right on the subway, lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Old Alexandria is very historical, beautiful and interesting to visit. Our grandson loves all the sites. We were fortunate to have an opportunity to tour the White House while there. The accomodations were very comfortable for four of us. Cab service easily available. Great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    50
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
73
49
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a 2 bedroom, the room was nice and clean and the kitchen was well stocked. The location can't be beat, a five minute walk to the Metro (Costco is only a few stops away). The nearby whole foods was an easy dinner option.
Exercise room was in good condition and it was safe and easy to go running right out the front door.
We had tons of luggage and were early so they were very accomodating in holding our luggage until our room was ready.
The only negative thing we experienced was one crabby staff person who brought the towels to us midweek after housekeeping was "closed" but we had requested a towel change before we set out for the day.
The cold water and lemonade in the lobby when we got home in the afternoons was a nice touch.
We were also disappointed our kids (ages 12 and 9) couldn't participate in the kids activities (even movie night) without an adult present in the room with them.

Room Tip: We enjoyed looking out towards D.C. and could see the Washington Monument lit up at night but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We reserved 4 suites to accommodate ourselves, our children and all the grandchildren. We parked our cars and never had to use them again til we left. The Metro station was a couple minutes away, and the Old Town Trolley was also near by. The units were all in excellent condition and we had plenty of room for everyone.

Room Tip: Our rooms had a view of the George Washington Masonic Temple - great lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great location. Across the street from the metro trains. Their is a free trolley to take you down King St. to shops and restaurants by the pier. Property was clean and staff friendly. Don't expect to check in early at this property because it is usually always booked. I know most people don't like the timeshare presentation, but we were done in less than an hour and received a $75 Amex gift card. I told the salesperson we purchased our Wyndham timeshare on the resale market and I just recently purchased another one on ebay, she didn't even want to waste her time trying to sell me anything. We used the train to go everywhere. If you plan on being there a week, I would suggest you purchase a weekly pass for trains. After taking the train we walked to the Capital, Smithsonian museums, Holocaust museum, Jefferson memorial, Lincoln memorial, MLK memorial, Roosevelt memorial, Korean memorial, and Arlington cemetery, took us two days to see everything. The only tour we paid for was to George Washington's home in Mt. Vernon, we took a boat cruise (bought tickets on groupons for half price). The only negative for this whole vacation and it was BIG because of the weather! The resort doesn't have a swimming pool. Overall, we had a excellent vacation, loved DC, we will definitely be back to this resort.

Room Tip: Request a high floor facing Kings Street to avoid the train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I love Wyndham properties and this one was just a beautiful as the rest. The hotel is on King Street in Old Town Alexandria and it was beautiful. It is perfectly located next to the metro and there is a free trolley that takes you to all the restaurants and shops along the way all the way to the waterfront. AND the parking was free for the week. It was great. The only thing I didn't like was how persistent the timeshare sales people were. They called all day and even knocked on our door a few times.

Room Tip: I would recommend you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linwood, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location is amazing. A very short walk from the Metro system and a short walk to the Trolley and bus lines. I was concerned by the sound of trains before we got there from other reviews but those people must have been extremely light sleepers with excellant hearing. I only heard two trains the entire time I was in the room. The rooms are large and clean and you can get new towels anytime all you have to do is ask. Friendly helpful staff anytime you have questions. Would definately stay here again. Alexanderia is a clean and safe town from what we saw along King street. The only negatives were weak internet signal, small parking spaces and no pool. We knew about the pool going in so no big deal.

Room Tip: We were in a two bedroom on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you don't want to stay in DC, this is where you want to be! Just a half block to the Metro station and 1 block from Amtrak, you can get to and from anywhere with ease! They area is a mecca of restaurants, bars and shops that are safe to walk to all evening. My only complaint about the neighborhood, is that nearby restaurants cater more to an adult palate than a teenagers so we had delivery pizza 2 nights during the week we were there! Although our room faced the Metro tracks, the windows are so well insulated you couldn't hear the trains. The 1 bedroom deluxe was perfect for my husband, our 15 year grandson and I. The rooms are large with a comfy king bed in the bedroom and a not so comfy queen sofa sleeper in the living room (our grandson is such a sport about sleeping on uncomfortable sofa sleepers), there is plenty of closet space, two bathroom sink (which makes getting ready in the morning so much nicer) and the dining table seats 6.
Staff is pleasant but in spite of them stating on arrival that they no longer have sales people who want to discuss your Wyndham ownership, they called us everyday to invite us to "update our information". I don't understand why timeshare places can't let us enjoy our vacation! We've already paid them a ton of money for ownership and we pay monthly dues. Enough is enough!
We will definitely return to this location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Address: 1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.