We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved It!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We Loved It!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Thanks for the great Service and Memories! We will be back soon. We make an annual trip to DC and to the Vietnam Wall and found a place that truly makes us feel at home. Great location as well. Thanks again everyone see you next year!

Room Tip: Book early they sell out quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    50
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
50
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our March Break getaway and it was fantastic! The resort is located right beside the metro and you just cross the street to get on to go to all of the Washington Attractions. The hotel is also located in the old part of DC and you can just walk along or take the trolly to great restaurants and shops along the way. The only disappointment was that they no longer share the pool with the hotel beside it so it no longer has a pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view, not a metro view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My stay at the Wyndham Old Town Alexandria earns high points. The room was huge and immaculate, and the bed marvelously comfortable. The location can't be beat as it is one block to the Amtrak and the Metro Line. Everything is convenient, and while you can hear the trains, it is not bothersome. King Street has everything you could want (shops, restaurants of all types, historical buildings), including a water front. I will stay here again . . definitely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

EXCELLENT LOCATION, great area amenities !! We arrived at Reagan National Airport and with our carry on luggage in tow, quickly and easily arrived at the hotel via the metro. We were not out of place with our "small" luggage on the metro either as travelers are a common sight. Arriving at the hotel was a little confusing as it is set back from the main road behind another building. I would suggest contacting the front desk ahead of your arrival to get walking directions, walking takes less than 5 minutes. The hotel is nestled in the historic Old Towne Alexandria which was immensely pleasing. A free trolley will take you to/ from the metro stop to the river. There are a plethora of restaurants and shops to entertain yourselves. As a bonus, Whole Foods Market is only 2 blocks away ! In addition to being an upscale grocery store, they have a wonderful spread for breakfast, lunch and dinner and have a coffee/wine bar. They are perfect if you have special food needs (we are vegetarian) or have a family that all wants a different type of meal. As for the hotel, the room was mediocre at best. The carpet was filthy and there was a "funky smell" about the place. I could not ascertain if it was form a lack of a deep clean or if the ventilation system simply recycled air. We were in a 1 BR Deluxe which is a lock off unit, meaning it adjoins another unit. The doors between the two units have ZERO sound abatement and as the lucky one on the sofa sleeper, I got to hear everything from conversations to sneezes. The entire room needed a deep clean, especially tile and grout in the bathrooms. Unlike many Wyndham resorts, there is no laundry in the rooms. Free laundry service is available on each floor, but can get busy. The room views, front or back are nothing to rave about, then again, we were not there to spend time in the room. Amtrack does pass in back of the hotel. While I am a light sleeper I was not disturbed by the evening train traffic, mind you our room was on the front side of the hotel. The staff were GREAT and even managed to get us an early check in. They were friendly and ready to help with anything. If offered a gift card or dinner reservations for attending one of the timeshare sales pitches - which they won't tell you that is what it is, SKIP IT, it isn't worth your time. Worthwhile to note is that the hotel will hold your bags for you if you do arrive early and want to check out the area. They will also hold them if you have a late flight. Do not expect to have a late check out, it simply won't work owing to their turnover and need to clean rooms on time. There is an enclosed, comfortable lounge area to wait in if need be. I would tell you to hit the town a last time instead ! We had an excellent vacation and in spite of the room, we would definitely return. As a side note, the DC area in general is a noisy place.

Room Tip: If you are "noise sensitive" choose a room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

For overall quality, convenience and accessibility, as well as the umbrella of the Wyndham name in the great town of Alexandria, this becomes a most reliable choice. Tip: There are special deals for those who are interested in the possibility of a Wyndham vacations investment as well. Making inquiries on this front and the willingness to participate in a relatively short and painless presentation can bring the cost of such a stay to a fraction of what's normally billed under other circumstances

Room Tip: I always seeing a room first before finalizing though in this case it is not so necessary as with ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Pros: Convenient. Close to Metro and Amtrak. Comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean. Free parking. Spacious (stayed in a 2 BR with a full kitchen

Cons: Weird setup between master suite and bathroom -when opened, the bedroom door blocked the bathroom entrance. Took a while (2+ hours) to get room ready for check in.

Overall great stay. Will stay again

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just spent a few days there & were not disappointed. It's all about location, besides being a good resort. It is across the street from the Metro, the only way to travel in DC. The free cable car runs the length of King St to the Potomac every 15 mins. A trip to Mt Vernon is a pleasant 15 min drive along the river on the George Washington Parkway. Old Town has it's own special charm, old buildings well preserved, very envolved in the arts--musical, theatrical & visual. Lots of restaurants, of all $ signs, cute trendy shops, & the Torpedo Factory, 3 floors of a very large ex-torpedo factory full of artsist of all types, painters, weavers, sculptors, glass & jewelery artisians. The resort has been there awhile, but has been kept up well. This was the smallest unit we've had, a 1 br lock-out unit, small side. Even so, we had a corner unit with windows on 2 sides, an ample living room/dining area. The kitchen was small but we still had a convection cooktop, small dishwasher & refrig, but still well equipped. Probably geared toward adults, famlies might prefer Wyndham National Harbor.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building, furthest from the metro are quieter. We had 504 this time, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Address: 1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Booking.com, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.