We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catch a good deal and it works very well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Catch a good deal and it works very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

For overall quality, convenience and accessibility, as well as the umbrella of the Wyndham name in the great town of Alexandria, this becomes a most reliable choice. Tip: There are special deals for those who are interested in the possibility of a Wyndham vacations investment as well. Making inquiries on this front and the willingness to participate in a relatively short and painless presentation can bring the cost of such a stay to a fraction of what's normally billed under other circumstances

Room Tip: I always seeing a room first before finalizing though in this case it is not so necessary as with ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    50
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
50
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virgina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Pros: Convenient. Close to Metro and Amtrak. Comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean. Free parking. Spacious (stayed in a 2 BR with a full kitchen

Cons: Weird setup between master suite and bathroom -when opened, the bedroom door blocked the bathroom entrance. Took a while (2+ hours) to get room ready for check in.

Overall great stay. Will stay again

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just spent a few days there & were not disappointed. It's all about location, besides being a good resort. It is across the street from the Metro, the only way to travel in DC. The free cable car runs the length of King St to the Potomac every 15 mins. A trip to Mt Vernon is a pleasant 15 min drive along the river on the George Washington Parkway. Old Town has it's own special charm, old buildings well preserved, very envolved in the arts--musical, theatrical & visual. Lots of restaurants, of all $ signs, cute trendy shops, & the Torpedo Factory, 3 floors of a very large ex-torpedo factory full of artsist of all types, painters, weavers, sculptors, glass & jewelery artisians. The resort has been there awhile, but has been kept up well. This was the smallest unit we've had, a 1 br lock-out unit, small side. Even so, we had a corner unit with windows on 2 sides, an ample living room/dining area. The kitchen was small but we still had a convection cooktop, small dishwasher & refrig, but still well equipped. Probably geared toward adults, famlies might prefer Wyndham National Harbor.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building, furthest from the metro are quieter. We had 504 this time, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is our fourth visit to the Wyndham Alexandria and we love this place! Like previous reviewers the location says it all - so easy to reach by the Ronald Reagan National airport and sitting on one of the prettiest streets in Alexandria for strolling and discovering its quaint and historical delights. We planned for this DC trip as usual by contacting our local congressmen and senators 5 to 6 months in advance for tour tickets, etc. The time period is especially required to try for the White House tours. Unfortunately, due to the sequester policy in place the White House tours have been cancelled for now. (But by luck we were able to tour the White House gardens while visiting its temporary visitor center during the Cherry Blossom Festival and scored a photo op with Bo, the First Dog, who was out for a walk on the lawn. This was an awesome, celebrity moment for our grandchildren!)
A month before in advance we ordered our valuable 7 day week rail passes on the Metro DC website. These passes enabled us to hop on the trains whenever and where ever to avoid the long lines at the fare machines and the $1 extra surcharge tacked on their paper tickets, The week passes still cost $35 each but now they changed it to short trips only during commute hours. This means up to $3.50 trips and if it's over $3.50 you have to pay the difference to exit. All other hours outside of commute time the passes allow you unlimited access for a week. Weekends are unlimited all day.
Now to the issues we encountered. We booked their only three bdrm presidential suite for our party of 7 - 4 adults and 3 children. There are 8 dining chairs to their beautiful, long dining table and there are place settings for 12. There are 3 bathrooms. The unit sleeps only 6. Go figure. The sofa is not a sleeper sofa so one of the children slept on it. (All their one and two bdrm units have sleeper sofas. I was informed not for the presidential suite) We had to request extra linen. If we had all adults, I'm assuming cots would have been brought up. When we first entered the unit, it had a funny smell, a llitle bit fishy almost. And many of the doors creaked loudly. These issues were promptly taken care of with fresheners and a little oil.
As we were platinum owners, we were told our mid-week housekeeping tidy service would be on Thursday so we placed all out 4 day old towels on the floor for replacement. We came back after a long day at 4 pm and the room was not done. The front desk said housekeeping cleans the emptied out units first and then in the afternoon the mid-week tidy units. Someone would be sent right away. I said no. We have little ones crashing already. So it was performed the next day, two days before departure. And oh, the trains were loud every day by our unit, #609.
The sales desk was persistent on us attending an owner's update. For three days they contacted us and we said not really interested as we attended one 4 weeks earlier. Finally we relented because we usually enjoyed these owner's updates, get the $75 amex card, the breakfast and the presentation would be 30 to 45 minutes long. Breakfast was just juice and doughnuts, unlike other Wyndham timeshares where we had full, hot breakfasts. But that's ok. Time was set for 9:45. At 9:20 they called us to come at 9:30. That's how my husband understood it. We were disconcerted by the time change on such short notice but we took it as we were checking out at 11 (which had been requested earlier and granted). Presentation could not be 30 minutes long as they needed their full 45 minutes (actually more) with us..They were so emphatic on this and they knew already we had bought more points last time and would not be buying anything. It was miscommunication all around - the right hand not talking to the left hand.
All in all, we had a wonderful time and we will return.

.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently spent a week in a one bedroom deluxe condo at Wyndham Old Town Alexandria.
The location is great, right across the street from the King Street Metro, which makes going into DC a breeze. It's also walking distance to too many great restaurants to count ! There are many nice boutique shops up and down King Street. Our unit was extremely attractive and comfortable with a living room/ full kitchen and separate bedroom with king bed, bath and jacuzzi tub. The resort offers free parking and free wifi which works very well. Free coffee and tea are offered in the lobby area, as well as free newspapers in the morning.
Since we had a kitchen, we also stocked up on snacks/drinks at nearby Whole Foods (easy walking distance). This is our favorite place to stay in the DC area; we will be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors/corner units tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wyndham Old Town Alexandria is a great location. The Metro is only a short walk making access to D.C easy and, with the free trolley on King Street, the waterfront and many historic attractions in Alexandria are within easy walking distance. Parking is free for guests but it is also very easy to take the Metro from Regan Airport to Wyndham Old Town and not need a car!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Wyndham Old Town Alexandria offers spacious, comfortable condos close to the King Street metro and close to a free trolley to the waterfront. This is one of our favorite resorts. Numerous restaurants are close by and the metro takes all the hassle out of visiting many of the tourist places in DC. Perfect location and perfect resort!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Address: 1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.