We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort across street from King Street metro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great resort across street from King Street metro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Wyndham Old Town Alexandria offers spacious, comfortable condos close to the King Street metro and close to a free trolley to the waterfront. This is one of our favorite resorts. Numerous restaurants are close by and the metro takes all the hassle out of visiting many of the tourist places in DC. Perfect location and perfect resort!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    50
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
50
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Check-in was smooth and the desk staff members were especially helpful. Declined the timeshare presentation due to the times it was offered. Stayed in a one bedroom sute that was furnished well. The unit was clean and comfortable. Internet and parking were free. Construction in the garage shared with the Hilton made parking tight and the car was covered with dust when I left. The location is very convenient with the Metro station less than a block from the facility. The downside of that is that the noise from the Metro and the nearby AmTrak station was very distracting at first but I quickly became accustomed to it and after the first night the noise did not bother my sleep. I definitely will stay here again but plan to ask for a room on the front side of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa at this resort for 5 nights. The villa was lovely! It was well appointed, stocked with everything we needed and clean. The staff was very efficient and friendly. We had no issue with the sales pitch as other reviewers mentioned. The staff tried to set us up to go to a session to hear about buying a time share, but when we said we weren't interested and that was the last we heard about it. It is a time share so we fully expected that they would try to get us to buy into it. The resort is perfectly located just off King Street which is the main road in Old town Alexandria. We were also a 5 minute walk to the metro station. We would certainly stay here again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Easy access to transportation all around the DC area. Two bedrooms unit with full kitchen and dining room. The staff is well versed on area attractions and eager to share information. There is a video library, but with so much to do locally, not much need to use this feature.
A tour of the facility if offered; avoid it--sales pitch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family enjoyed a DC trip over Fall Break and this was our first time to a Wyndham property. We were extremely pleased with the location being only a hundred yards from the King Street metro stop (25 min ride to downtown DC). The room was in excellent condition and was well furnished. The pool was a shared pool with the hotel next door and we did not end up using it with so much to see in DC. The Wyndham is located right on the trolley route to downtown Alexandria which was again very convenient for nighttime entertainment. One of the best things was the Whole Food just a couple of blocks away. It made for easy dinners after a long day of sightseeing. The kids would say the best thing was the Dunkin Donuts next door! The only negative was the timeshare push that we politely declined to attend.

Room Tip: Be ready to a timeshare pitch when you get your parking pass :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby, Tennessee
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our son-in-law is a timeshare member. He couldn't use his points the rest of this year and didn't want to lose them so he gave them to us as guests. We had a 1 bedroom deluxe on the 3rd floor with a balcony. It was beautiful. All we had to do was bring clothes. Everything is provided for you. Kitchen is fully stocked with all appliances and eating utensils. There was a whirlpool tub and big shower. 2 sinks. Parking is underground shared with the Hilton. Once we parked, we never used the vehicle again until we left to go home. The metro (subway) is just a few yards from here. There is a free trolley that goes from one end of King street to the end of King street. You can hop on and off all day long. Alexandria is a quaint little town with lots of shops and restaurants. The waterfront on the Potomac River is pretty cool. We walked a lot and rode the trolley. We took the metro to DC one day and to Arlington Cemetery another day.
The staff at Wyndham were friendly and very knowledgeable. I would stay here again. We would like to go back because there is just too much to see and do. I read in some reviews that people complained about noise from the metro but we never heard it.

Room Tip: Not many balconies....request one before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the small side of lock off and were generally pleased. Everything pretty compacted but functional. It was just the two of us.
Parking area is tight, but well marked as to which spaces we could use. Rarely used the car. Parking free. Easy walk to metro, bought week pass and good to go. Found locals very helpful in helping to learn the process. Free trolly going up and down King Street to waterfront. Great meal at The Wharf.
Fresh popcorn most nights, cookies not very desirable lots of coffee. Small overpriced store on site for ice cream, soft drinks and snacks. Grocery nearby.
Staff was very personable and knowledgable about area. As Platinum owner, received "clean and tidy" on Wed.
Elevators fast and numerous luggage carts. Free washer/dryers on each floor with rolling laundry baskets.
Found bed very comfortable, loved ceiling fan and plenty of towels.
Heard the trains in am but apparently got use to them. Slept great.
Hope to come back when Cherry blossoms in bloom.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Address: 1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.