We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Chapel Hill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Check-in was smooth and the desk staff members were especially helpful. Declined the timeshare presentation due to the times it was offered. Stayed in a one bedroom sute that was furnished well. The unit was clean and comfortable. Internet and parking were free. Construction in the garage shared with the Hilton made parking tight and the car was covered with dust when I left. The location is very convenient with the Metro station less than a block from the facility. The downside of that is that the noise from the Metro and the nearby AmTrak station was very distracting at first but I quickly became accustomed to it and after the first night the noise did not bother my sleep. I definitely will stay here again but plan to ask for a room on the front side of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    49
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
46
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa at this resort for 5 nights. The villa was lovely! It was well appointed, stocked with everything we needed and clean. The staff was very efficient and friendly. We had no issue with the sales pitch as other reviewers mentioned. The staff tried to set us up to go to a session to hear about buying a time share, but when we said we weren't interested and that was the last we heard about it. It is a time share so we fully expected that they would try to get us to buy into it. The resort is perfectly located just off King Street which is the main road in Old town Alexandria. We were also a 5 minute walk to the metro station. We would certainly stay here again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Easy access to transportation all around the DC area. Two bedrooms unit with full kitchen and dining room. The staff is well versed on area attractions and eager to share information. There is a video library, but with so much to do locally, not much need to use this feature.
A tour of the facility if offered; avoid it--sales pitch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family enjoyed a DC trip over Fall Break and this was our first time to a Wyndham property. We were extremely pleased with the location being only a hundred yards from the King Street metro stop (25 min ride to downtown DC). The room was in excellent condition and was well furnished. The pool was a shared pool with the hotel next door and we did not end up using it with so much to see in DC. The Wyndham is located right on the trolley route to downtown Alexandria which was again very convenient for nighttime entertainment. One of the best things was the Whole Food just a couple of blocks away. It made for easy dinners after a long day of sightseeing. The kids would say the best thing was the Dunkin Donuts next door! The only negative was the timeshare push that we politely declined to attend.

Room Tip: Be ready to a timeshare pitch when you get your parking pass :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby, Tennessee
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our son-in-law is a timeshare member. He couldn't use his points the rest of this year and didn't want to lose them so he gave them to us as guests. We had a 1 bedroom deluxe on the 3rd floor with a balcony. It was beautiful. All we had to do was bring clothes. Everything is provided for you. Kitchen is fully stocked with all appliances and eating utensils. There was a whirlpool tub and big shower. 2 sinks. Parking is underground shared with the Hilton. Once we parked, we never used the vehicle again until we left to go home. The metro (subway) is just a few yards from here. There is a free trolley that goes from one end of King street to the end of King street. You can hop on and off all day long. Alexandria is a quaint little town with lots of shops and restaurants. The waterfront on the Potomac River is pretty cool. We walked a lot and rode the trolley. We took the metro to DC one day and to Arlington Cemetery another day.
The staff at Wyndham were friendly and very knowledgeable. I would stay here again. We would like to go back because there is just too much to see and do. I read in some reviews that people complained about noise from the metro but we never heard it.

Room Tip: Not many balconies....request one before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the small side of lock off and were generally pleased. Everything pretty compacted but functional. It was just the two of us.
Parking area is tight, but well marked as to which spaces we could use. Rarely used the car. Parking free. Easy walk to metro, bought week pass and good to go. Found locals very helpful in helping to learn the process. Free trolly going up and down King Street to waterfront. Great meal at The Wharf.
Fresh popcorn most nights, cookies not very desirable lots of coffee. Small overpriced store on site for ice cream, soft drinks and snacks. Grocery nearby.
Staff was very personable and knowledgable about area. As Platinum owner, received "clean and tidy" on Wed.
Elevators fast and numerous luggage carts. Free washer/dryers on each floor with rolling laundry baskets.
Found bed very comfortable, loved ceiling fan and plenty of towels.
Heard the trains in am but apparently got use to them. Slept great.
Hope to come back when Cherry blossoms in bloom.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river, new jersey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This Wyndam property was recently renovated and it was georgeous. The location was at the far end of King Street set back off of the street. Just a few hubdred yards from the metro. Let me say you really do not hear the trains. We had a room facing the front of the building and the room was perferct. Everything new. We were acutually able to see an ourdoor wedding from our window over at the Hilton which is just across. The location is perfect for walking King street or heading over to DC. I wish to mention 2 employees that were very helpful friendly and really mad us us feel at home and they were Tyler and Shana. We did go to the timeshare presentation and it lasted exactly 45 minutes as they said it was. It was worth it for the gift we received. My wide and I will definetely go back in a few years. We did have to leave a day early because of hurricane Sandi. Oh yes the parking was free in the garage at the Hilton next door.

Room Tip: ask for a room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Address: 1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.