We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Easy access to transportation all around the DC area. Two bedrooms unit with full kitchen and dining room. The staff is well versed on area attractions and eager to share information. There is a video library, but with so much to do locally, not much need to use this feature.
A tour of the facility if offered; avoid it--sales pitch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    61
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
85
65
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our family enjoyed a DC trip over Fall Break and this was our first time to a Wyndham property. We were extremely pleased with the location being only a hundred yards from the King Street metro stop (25 min ride to downtown DC). The room was in excellent condition and was well furnished. The pool was a shared pool with the hotel next door and we did not end up using it with so much to see in DC. The Wyndham is located right on the trolley route to downtown Alexandria which was again very convenient for nighttime entertainment. One of the best things was the Whole Food just a couple of blocks away. It made for easy dinners after a long day of sightseeing. The kids would say the best thing was the Dunkin Donuts next door! The only negative was the timeshare push that we politely declined to attend.

Room Tip: Be ready to a timeshare pitch when you get your parking pass :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby, Tennessee
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our son-in-law is a timeshare member. He couldn't use his points the rest of this year and didn't want to lose them so he gave them to us as guests. We had a 1 bedroom deluxe on the 3rd floor with a balcony. It was beautiful. All we had to do was bring clothes. Everything is provided for you. Kitchen is fully stocked with all appliances and eating utensils. There was a whirlpool tub and big shower. 2 sinks. Parking is underground shared with the Hilton. Once we parked, we never used the vehicle again until we left to go home. The metro (subway) is just a few yards from here. There is a free trolley that goes from one end of King street to the end of King street. You can hop on and off all day long. Alexandria is a quaint little town with lots of shops and restaurants. The waterfront on the Potomac River is pretty cool. We walked a lot and rode the trolley. We took the metro to DC one day and to Arlington Cemetery another day.
The staff at Wyndham were friendly and very knowledgeable. I would stay here again. We would like to go back because there is just too much to see and do. I read in some reviews that people complained about noise from the metro but we never heard it.

Room Tip: Not many balconies....request one before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the small side of lock off and were generally pleased. Everything pretty compacted but functional. It was just the two of us.
Parking area is tight, but well marked as to which spaces we could use. Rarely used the car. Parking free. Easy walk to metro, bought week pass and good to go. Found locals very helpful in helping to learn the process. Free trolly going up and down King Street to waterfront. Great meal at The Wharf.
Fresh popcorn most nights, cookies not very desirable lots of coffee. Small overpriced store on site for ice cream, soft drinks and snacks. Grocery nearby.
Staff was very personable and knowledgable about area. As Platinum owner, received "clean and tidy" on Wed.
Elevators fast and numerous luggage carts. Free washer/dryers on each floor with rolling laundry baskets.
Found bed very comfortable, loved ceiling fan and plenty of towels.
Heard the trains in am but apparently got use to them. Slept great.
Hope to come back when Cherry blossoms in bloom.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toms river, new jersey
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This Wyndam property was recently renovated and it was georgeous. The location was at the far end of King Street set back off of the street. Just a few hubdred yards from the metro. Let me say you really do not hear the trains. We had a room facing the front of the building and the room was perferct. Everything new. We were acutually able to see an ourdoor wedding from our window over at the Hilton which is just across. The location is perfect for walking King street or heading over to DC. I wish to mention 2 employees that were very helpful friendly and really mad us us feel at home and they were Tyler and Shana. We did go to the timeshare presentation and it lasted exactly 45 minutes as they said it was. It was worth it for the gift we received. My wide and I will definetely go back in a few years. We did have to leave a day early because of hurricane Sandi. Oh yes the parking was free in the garage at the Hilton next door.

Room Tip: ask for a room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spent a week at the resort for a conference in DC. The car hardly left the parking garage (which was good, the spaces are tight and pillars make them hard to get into).
The highlight of this resort is its location at the top of King Street. All of the stores, restaurants, etc along the almost 2 mile stretch of King St. in Old Town are right outside your door. You can walk everywhere. Don't feel like walking, there is the free trolley that runs up and down King Street most of the day and evening.
Want to leave the area and see the sights, the King Street Metro Station (Yellow and Blue lines) is less than 2 blocks away. It was a 20 minute ride into the DC convention center. Reagan National is a quick 2 stops away! You wouldn't even need a rental car. Amtrak and VRE are also nearby.
We didn't use a lot of the resort amenities, but almost never do. We had a large 1 bedroom suite with plenty of room. The suite was clean and had everything we could think of in it. A little bit of an old style design with a large bath (jacuzzi tub, shower, sink) essentially part of the bedroom. (Would not have worked out well if we had other unrelated adults using the sofa sleeper in the living room, but kids would have been fine.) Didn't find the bed or some of the furniture particularly comfortable. Washers and dryers are not in the units, but are available on each floor and are free to use.

Room Tip: Really, none of the rooms have a view but all seem to be nice. Unfortunately being close to the Met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence,RI
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wyndham Old Town Alexandria is located in a great location near Metro and Whole Foods Market. Our stay from 9-29 to 10-06-12 was comfortable despite some incomplete renovations done two years ago. A piece of molding was missing from the master bathroom and the threshold was missing between master bedroom and common area. They should have put in a sliding door and covered window between the master bath and bedroom for convenience of non-couples using the room. There were six of us in two bedroom suite but only enough towel racks for four which made it difficult for two people to hang their towels. Towels are expected to be used more than once since guest are only allowed one towel exchange per week. I later learned that all the TV remotes did not work well. When you want to lower the volume, it would change the channels. When you wanted to change the channel, it would sometimes change the volume etc. I hope Wyndham takes constructive criticism by guest seriously because they have a wonderful front desk staff and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Address: 1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.