We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old Town location on King Street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Old Town Alexandria to your Saves list
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Old Town location on King Street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spent a week at the resort for a conference in DC. The car hardly left the parking garage (which was good, the spaces are tight and pillars make them hard to get into).
The highlight of this resort is its location at the top of King Street. All of the stores, restaurants, etc along the almost 2 mile stretch of King St. in Old Town are right outside your door. You can walk everywhere. Don't feel like walking, there is the free trolley that runs up and down King Street most of the day and evening.
Want to leave the area and see the sights, the King Street Metro Station (Yellow and Blue lines) is less than 2 blocks away. It was a 20 minute ride into the DC convention center. Reagan National is a quick 2 stops away! You wouldn't even need a rental car. Amtrak and VRE are also nearby.
We didn't use a lot of the resort amenities, but almost never do. We had a large 1 bedroom suite with plenty of room. The suite was clean and had everything we could think of in it. A little bit of an old style design with a large bath (jacuzzi tub, shower, sink) essentially part of the bedroom. (Would not have worked out well if we had other unrelated adults using the sofa sleeper in the living room, but kids would have been fine.) Didn't find the bed or some of the furniture particularly comfortable. Washers and dryers are not in the units, but are available on each floor and are free to use.

Room Tip: Really, none of the rooms have a view but all seem to be nice. Unfortunately being close to the Met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    51
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
53
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Providence,RI
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wyndham Old Town Alexandria is located in a great location near Metro and Whole Foods Market. Our stay from 9-29 to 10-06-12 was comfortable despite some incomplete renovations done two years ago. A piece of molding was missing from the master bathroom and the threshold was missing between master bedroom and common area. They should have put in a sliding door and covered window between the master bath and bedroom for convenience of non-couples using the room. There were six of us in two bedroom suite but only enough towel racks for four which made it difficult for two people to hang their towels. Towels are expected to be used more than once since guest are only allowed one towel exchange per week. I later learned that all the TV remotes did not work well. When you want to lower the volume, it would change the channels. When you wanted to change the channel, it would sometimes change the volume etc. I hope Wyndham takes constructive criticism by guest seriously because they have a wonderful front desk staff and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had many problems, began, when we arrived, after a long 7-hour travel day, all we wanted was to get into our room and relax. But first we had to check our car with the person who spends time on her sales pitch for time-sharing. I continually told her I was tired and not really hearing what she was saying but she kept on talking. Next, the bath light fixture crackled and sparked when switching on or off. At the end of the day, we called the front desk, explained the problem and wanted to have someone check tomorrow while we were out. The clerk told us to just call back tomorrow and explain again and they will help us. Why would I want to call again when I just did? (Other fixtures were popping through the week as well). Also most all of the staff seemed to be unfamiliar with the area and were from out of town, so they did not know anything about tour buses, recommendations or any other advise. And couldn't find brochures to help either. Except for 1; Shanea was very pleasant and very helpful. A few days later we head out to dinner only to find they were serving wine and cheese, which we would have had, but was too late for us by then. When we asked about it, we were told, "yes we do this every Monday", like of course we would know that. NO, we've never been here before, how would we know? Then the washer & dryer, which said was in each room, was in the hallway of the floor, but was broken. When I called to see when would be fixed he had no idea it was even broken and would check. Called back and said they are getting a new one and all other floors were fine. But come to find out that other floors were broken as well. The day we left, I found the same 'broken' dryer re-plugged in. Makes you wonder. TV info button did not work, WIFI was spotty, No safety rail in shower. No info about town events found out on TV that art fair was going on. The only good thing was it’s close location to the metro, but would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I guess if you are really in to noise this is your place.
trains running all day and night. Thanks for the wake up call CSX...

The pest that work there trying to sell us timeshares called us daily to waste our time. Geesh! We own 5 already. Leave me alone!!!

The room smelt terrible. I think the previous occupants had fish every night.
The beds were hard. The pillows too small for a king. There are no doors on the master bath.
If you are into watching then have fun.
Two mall rolls of toilet paper, small towels,
did I mention the noise? What?
They said they would have cookies and refreshments available. I guess if you enjoy old coffee, something that looked like warm lemonade and boxed store bought, tooth chipping cookie. Eat up or become a ninja with some new throwing stars.

And Bring MONEY. Their room service is typical, bad and like totally expensive to the max.
They had a little shop downstairs to buy a coke and candy. After I pawned my watch I enjoyed a cola and a three ounce pack of salted peanuts.

Parking ? Oh yes, plenty...not. Rule: Drive a small car. Mid size and larger you are going to get it scratched up and find getting out of it very difficult. The parking lot was very confusing.

The plumbing is extremely loud. Our neighbor was taking 30 minute baths every night. The sound was so loud we had to shut the bedroom door to hear the tv in the next room. What speak up dear??

Room Tip: try to get the rooms facing King Street. Otherwise bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Luxury accommodations right near all of the DC attractions! Metro is right across the way. We love the underground parking for our motorcycles. Staff was great and very knowledgable regarding DC things to do. Beautifully furnished and full kitchen allowed for breakfast and dinner in, while having lunch out. Suited our budget perfectly! Will absolutely be back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. Because of location there are only a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Location: Perfect for traveling into the district since it so close to the Metro Station;and being located right on King Street it is very convenient to walking (or catching the free trolley) up and down to all the stores and restaurants located in Old Alexandria.

Service: Excellent - our reservation had split dates due to booking an extra date and rather than making us check out they graciously arranged for us to be booked the entire stay in one room. Very polite and friendly staff.

Rooms: We stayed in a 2BR and it was very roomy with a nice kitchen and living room area. Clean and comfortable. Even though the railroad tracks are located right next to the property we weren't bothered by train noise.

Property: Very well maintained and beautiful grounds.

Stay here and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was our second trip to this resort in the past ten years. We went back to this location because we remembered how much we liked it and how close it was to the King Street Metro Station. Our primary purpose for this trip was to visit the DC sights we missed on our trip in 2003, so being close to the Metro was key to where we stayed. It's also conveniently located to Mt. Vernon. A short Metro ride and bus transfer and you are there in less than an hour.
The resort has been updated since we last visited. The old decor was very colonial and now it is much more contemporary. Our small one bedroom condo was very clean and comfortable. We were in a "lock-off" unit, so the only complaint we had was we could hear the people in the other part of the lock-off talking and hear their TV. It wasn't too bad though. The smaller side of the lock off has a King bed, decent sized living room and small kitchen. Everything except an oven and we didn't plan to do any cooking anyway, so the oven wasn't needed. The bathroom was adequate. There never seems to be enough counter space in the bathrooms!
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning as we ran out the door to catch the Metro.
Another nice thing about this resort is it's location in Old Town Alexandria. Just walk down King Street to the water front. There are lots of shops and restaurants on King St. And it's just a block away from Whole Foods where we got milk, cereal and goodies to snack on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Metro tracks. It's much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Old Town Alexandria

Address: 1757 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Old Town Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Old Town Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Wyndham Alexandria
Alexandria Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Old Town Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.