We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb New Year's Eve Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landini Brothers Incorporated

Landini Brothers Incorporated
115 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3207 (Old Town)
703 836 8404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Landini Brothers Incorporated is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Lee Street and King Street
Transit: King Street Metro stop, about 16 blocks away from the restaurant.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Superb New Year's Eve Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is one of my wife's very favorite restaurants. We dined early on New Year's Eve. The female staff was very beautifully and formally dressed for the occasion. The males also were formally attired. Add to this their friendly and professional demeanor, and we knew it would be a special dinner. We were not disappointed. We shared the fresh bread and the delicious Insalata Piatta, which was sliced tomato, avocado and asparagus, served with a vinaigrette dressing. The entrees of Wild Tasmanian Salmon and the Tortellini alla Panna (tortellini pasta filled with veal, sautéed in a light cream sauce and topped with Parmesan cheese) were excellent. Overall, this was a superb dining experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    99
    30
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Old style Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

A good variety of Italian dishes are offered, including nice seafood options and a good variety of pastas. The restaurant and menu probably has not been updated in many years, but that is okay if you know to expect it. My husband had a nice homemade pasta with a variety of seafood. I loved the Agnolotti Fiorentina. It was a very busy night but service was still quite good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Deteriorating Quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I've loved this restaurant for years (as my prior review shows). My two most recent visits, however, force me to say something negative about the kitchen and the food quality -- both of which have declined in the last year. First, my old favorite, linguini with white clam sauce, no longer has anything in it recognizable as clams. What? Yes. Perhaps they are getting clams out of a can from some Asian source (small, tasteless black shards of something, not pink bits of clams and no whole ones, nothing served in a shell) -- just a guess -- but they sure weren't clams from New England, not in what was served to me in any event. (Did they serve me something with mushrooms instead? Anything is possible, I suppose, but they insisted it was white clam sauce the way they've always done it. Au contraire!) The linguini was as good as ever, but the sauce and clams were not. Strike one. Second, they used to offer a pretty decent steak. Odd to choose a steak at an Italian restaurant, but sometimes that's what one wants. Never again for me at this place! What I got, misleadingly described in the menu as "prime sirloin," was a sliced up, warm, thick fat-edged mess of the lowest quality beef I've been served in any restaurant lately. It looked as if it had been prepared long before I ordered it -- cut up (no one serves steak this way), overcooked, tasteless, unpleasant: inedible, really. Strike two. Maybe next time I'll have to stick with the veal, if there is a next time. After all, three strikes and you're out, and that would sadden me after decades of enjoyment here. The staff remains very pleasant, table service is slow, but good when you get it, the bar makes excellent drinks, the crowd is convivial, and so on, but, of course, it's all about the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Ambivalent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

There is nothing bad about Landini Brothers but alas there was nothing outstanding. The food was good but unimaginative. The ingredients were fine but we got the feeling that the kitchen was phoning it in; i.e. have been making the same stuff for years and not taking special care in doing it. The place is noisy !! There can be no quiet conversation. Yelling (braying south of the Mason-Dixon Line) is the norm here. Based on the above we thought that the value was so-so. It is unlikely that we would return in the near future if at all. I suppose we were disappointed since Landini was highly recommended to us by an acquaintance. Hopefully it was an off night and not a race to the bottom in dining in Alexandria. .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Beautiful dinner, were seated promptly on a cold Friday evening. Service was responsive, and quick. Dessert, tiramisu was too die for.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Landini Brothers Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Landini Brothers Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landini Brothers Incorporated, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.