We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average Taste” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Market Restaurant

Fish Market Restaurant
105 & 107 King Street, Old Town, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
(703) 836-5676
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Old Town
Canada
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Below Average Taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went to the Fish Market In Old Alexandria. We had calamari and crab cakes for an appetizer. The calamari appeared to be a frozen product, chewie ,not fresh and deep fried. The crab cakes were okay. I had the linguini with clams, calamari, shrimp and mussels. The seafood tasted chewie and overcooked. The garlic and white wine sauce was bland and lacked any flavor. I think I was spoiled
as I returned from Greece and Italy and had the best seafood ever. My wife ordered the fresh lobster and my son ordered the crab legs. The food is below average quality and the bill was expensive I would not recommend. I am sure there are better seafood restaurants in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    176
    91
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

While I loved the atmosphere and history of the building, I was not impressed with my clam chowder. It was tasteless and no amount of salt and pepper seemed to help. My friend who lives nearby enjoys coming here so next time I will take my cue from her and order what she recommends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice ambience but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had lunch here. I ordered a dozen oysters on the half shell, hand selected by the chef. But the size of the oysters was about the size of my thumb nail. The avocado crab stuffed appetizers were very good. I felt for the money we spent this could have been a better experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Hill, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If you love cold beers...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ate here after a long day touring DC. My nephews were very excited for seafood. The food was just okay. The service was good and the beers were cold so I guess I can't complain there!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Decent but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I enjoyed my dinner here, but the menu seemed a bit limited to fried foods rather than great seafood (although they did have an extensive raw bar, of which I do not partake). I have the crabcakes, which were good. I was really hoping for clams casino, but they couldn't do them. I ended up getting a salad to avoid getting a meal that consisted solely of fried food. Overall, it was decent, but it seemed basically like a tourist joint. There was a small place just up the block on King St that I would have liked to try instead.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Market Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fish Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Market Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.