We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Seafood in Old Town Alexandria VA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wharf Restaurant

Wharf Restaurant
119 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3207 (Old Town)
703-836-2836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wharf Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Transit: Free trolley from Metro stop to the Wharf and transit stop 1 block from restaurant.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“GREAT Seafood in Old Town Alexandria VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Four of us in town for business wanted a nice sit down seafood restaurant - THE WHARF was just the ticket! Oysters, Crab, Lobster and Filet - we enjoyed MANY items from the menu and enjoyed them all! Nice wine by the glass options (the Carmenere was great!) and we had a coupon from the hotel for a free dessert (Berry Creme Brulee) was a nice added comp! Marie provided great service - overall a VERY GOOD dining experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    126
    43
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth that extra mile to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited based on other reviews and were not disappointed. Excellent service in busy place, food was really good and the wine list very reasonably priced and great quality. Crab superb of course but varied enough menu for all of us to be happy. Never likely to return as we're just visiting DC and that's done now, but would love that restaurant here in London!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fabulous crab, awesome lobster mashed potatoes,great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

we had a party of 15. Our food was wonderful...everything with crab was outstanding. They had lobster mashed potatoes that were delicious.. Great Service. Small place but wonderful. right across the street is a frozen custard place that had the best lemon custard I have ever had. no dislikes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Believe the Reviews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stumbled upon The Wharf walking through Old Town last year and sat outside to sample the claim of best crab cakes. The crab cakes were terrific! We returned to Alexandria and The Wharf this summer for a birthday meal; crab cakes, fish, calamari, all wonderful. The wine list is reasonably priced with interesting choices. Pedro the manager was very helpful discussing booking The Wharf for a family event.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very Good Seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I were in Old Town for the weekend and wanted a nice place for Saturday night dinner. We went to The Wharf, which was only about 10 minutes from our hotel. This restaurant is in a busy, very popular area but there is parking in a deck around the corner ($12 for the time it took to eat dinner). We made 9:00pm reservations and were seated promptly. The place was "dimly" lit, perfect for a romantic dinner, but unfortunately, the tables are rather close together and we were seated next to a young woman who was speaking rather loudly. Our waiter was very good, and dinner progressed happily once that table left. We both ordered the large Seafood Chowder ($6.95); I wouldn't say it was loaded with seafood, but it tasted very good. I also ordered a Dirty Martini ($8) - although the waiter shook the jigger at the table, the martini wasn't very "dirty" nor very alcohol-filled. I ordered the crab cakes ($27) and grilled veggies - they were very good. My husband ordered the shellfish platter ($33), which included crabcakes and scallops. It too was very good. While our meal was good, and I'm glad we went, I wouldn't go out of my way to return - I'd probably try another seafood place next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wharf Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.