We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and waiters, bad hostess” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wharf Restaurant

Wharf Restaurant
119 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3207 (Old Town)
703-836-2836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wharf Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 615 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Transit: Free trolley from Metro stop to the Wharf and transit stop 1 block from restaurant.
1 review
“Good food and waiters, bad hostess”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I went to The Wharf Monday to dinner, the food was great, delicious scallops wrapped in bacon and a couple good wines. Our server despite is young was very attentive and helpful. that night I guess it was busy cause our food took 30 minutes after the appetizer, it was delicious and enjoyable. the unique things made us uncomfortable was the hostess, this gentleman showed us RUDE attitude after we were waiting 15 minutes for a table, we think he need learn some more about costumers serves and being polite to people.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    170
    53
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC northern suburbs, NY
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good catch in Old Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We managed to snag an online reservation for Friday night during Cherry Blossom Festival time the first weekend of April. Old Town was crowded!!! We were delayed waiting for the trolley to take us down to the Wharf so we just called and they moved our reservation. We still arrived 5 minutes late, but they seated us right away, while the line snaked out the door into the cold. We had great service (thanks, Miguel) and nice salads (house and the arugala, radicchio & pecan). I enjoyed the crab cakes and my husband had the Triple Norfolk Combo, followed by a deadly chocolate torte - yum! A worthwhile choice in Old Town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“late dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff was knowledgeable and friendly...lump meat crab cakes were outstanding...seafood chowder was best I've had

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse,NY
Level Contributor
197 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went here on Tuesday for lunch. Our server, Gerard, was excellent. The atmosphere was cozy. The seafood was great. The raw oysters were very fresh and the flounder stuffed with crabmeat was out of this world. I really liked the lemon sauce. I would eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
266 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Very Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Enjoyed the location, decor, food. A little problem arose when we thought the server said lobster was $20/pound and so I said "then a one and 1/2 lobster would be around $30, right?" and the server agreed. In fact, the lobster was $28 per pound. Oh well... Otherwise, a perfect evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wharf Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.