We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wharf Restaurant

Wharf Restaurant
119 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3207 (Old Town)
703-836-2836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wharf Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Transit: Free trolley from Metro stop to the Wharf and transit stop 1 block from restaurant.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Have a wonderful leisurely lunch. The food was very good and all diners were very happy. We all had dessert and everyone raved about their sweet treats. Very attentive waiter. Highly recommend and plan to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    145
    49
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The food was very good. The waiter did not intrude but was there when you needed him. The room felt crowded and dark but this is okay if you are looking for romance

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food Good, Service Not So Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had high expectations of this place. It had a great atmosphere. There was barely anyone in the restaurant when we went. Maybe 2-3 tables with 2-3 people, so we thought, great we can be in and out of there fast and the server would be attentive. However it took forever for our server to come and greet us since we had to ask for our server. He finally came and took our drink orders and food order since we already knew what we wanted. Our appetizers came out first and we started on those. Then we asked about our drinks, we figured he hadn't put the drink orders in. Our entrees came out just a few seconds after our apps and we didn't even have time to eat our appetizers and still without drinks. Also one of the entrees came with peppers which we asked not to add. The drink finally came and it wasn't what I ordered. The server barely apologized. I am usually not a complainer, we didn't expect anything at all from it, but wanted to inform the manager and give him just a heads up since we work in the service industry. All he said was thank you for telling me and left, didn't even sound sincere. So because of that we ended up talking about the service the entire time while eating. The food we ordered was great though, even though one entree has the peppers. Finally the manager came over and apologized again and said he was happy that we told him, our feedback was important to know whats going on, and took our drinks off the bill, which was nice, but he really should have been more sincere the first time he came over so we didn't have to talk about it during dinner and have a not so great experience. Plus they ended up losing money, because if my drinks came first, I would have ordered another one. Very average place, since the food was good, but service not great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WASH, DC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food and service for lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We ate there twice on a recent visit to the area. From the host who greeted us with a smile to the impeccably groomed and professionally trained waiter and to the busboy who cleared our table between courses the service was 5 star! The fish and seafood dishes were fresh and prepared in the traditional southern manner with lots of variety on the menu. Coffee was exceptional and we were not hurried out even though they were busy. A great Old Town Alexandria restaurant experience. Having lived in the area for many years and tried most in this area this will be my new "regular" restaurant when visiting.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious, Delectable Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Three of us popped in around 7:00 PM on a Saturday evening, without reservations and luckily were seated right away. Within minutes there was a line. Reservations would be a good idea.

Service was excellent, quick, attentive and often. Most important, the food was outstanding. I had the very best New England clam chowder I have ever eaten. This was followed by jumbo lump crabcakes which were tied for first on my list. My wife and daughter were equally pleased with their choices. In particular, the Vidalia onion soup was a hit. We will be coming back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wharf Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wharf Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.