We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go if You Like Jazz...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laporta's Restaurant

Laporta's Restaurant
1600 Duke St., Alexandria, VA 22314
703-683-6313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Laporta's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 651 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Continental, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dangerfield
Transit: King Street Metro one block away
Description: Laporta’s restaurant is the ideal place for extraordinary food in a casual, comfortable setting. Laporta’s has an attentively serviced contemporary dining room perfect for a romantic evening out or any other special occasion, combined with an adjoining intimate Jazz lounge. Relax and listen to the live jazz featured nightly. The lounge has the warmth and friendly feel of a local’s bar yet with the same excellence of service and consistency of food quality that defines our dining room and exemplifies the restaurant as a whole. The menu features inventive fresh seafoods and hearty pastas complemented by the provincial-style desserts of Margaret Laporta.
northern virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Go if You Like Jazz...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

On a Saturday evening we got there at 6:30 before the jazz musicians started playing (at 7:30); the service was very friendly, the food came out very quickly and it was tasty but the portions were small for the price (3 scallops for $30). Wines-by-the-glass were expensive ($9 to $12) with just a few unimpressive choices. Unfortunately the speakers blared oldies music that was too loud and not consistent with a fine dining concept. Half way thru our dinner three large groups arrived, the service went down hill and the noise level got uncomfortably loud. Our bill for two people (2 salads, 2 entrees, 1 glass of wine) with tax and tip was $105 -- about $25 overpriced. Clearly Laporta's is all about the jazz music and they've been doing it successfully for a long time. But if you're going just for the food, there are many better places nearby for a more enjoyable dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    42
    13
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient but not memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We tried this restaurant when we checked into next door hotel and did not feel like a trek to the restaurants on King Street. They were busy so we sat at the bar. Bartender was friendly and efficient and his Manhattan was excellent but slightly expensive for the caliber of restaurant.

Appetizers were less than memorable unfortunately. We were not enticed to visit again to try the regular menu. Tables are much too close together, no jazz played while we were there that early evening, and the vibe was much more like a local diner that we expected. Easy, convenient, but for this cost would probably not return for dinner unless again we were too tired to venture further. The salmon plate next to us looked good, so maybe just skip the appetizers and go for what they seem to do best. It was busy, so maybe we are missing the point/attraction of this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were fearful is this our first visit to Laporta's since most of our other visits to restaurants in Old Town Alexandria had not lived up to recommendations and published reviews. We were more than pleasantly surprised when we both had imaginative and well prepared dinners served by an attentive staff in a comfortable setting. The field green salad was generous, tasty and not over dressed; just the right touch. Even better was the bread basket that had an assortment of European style rolls and bread; equal to best we have experienced anywhere in DC area. Things were looking up. There is a nice wine list. For other reasons we could not drink any alcohol that evening. The two main course were a seafood/pasta special and a regular seafood/pasta dish that was on the normal menu. Both were quite different but each was excellent and imaginative. Again, each dish was not oversauced and in both the ingredients fresh and generous. A wonderful dessert sampler for two topped the evening. All in all a very good meal. We will return. Laporta's has live jazz music. Usually I do not like this since musicians tend to play as if they were being paid by the decibel making any conversation impossible. However the jazz was quiet and unobtrusive; altogether rather pleasant. It and other small touches plus the food quality reinforced our decision to return. My 4-star rating is about the best I will deliver. Five stars are only for the "crème de la crème" and very very rare.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
“unappetizing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Don't expect a good table if you make a reservation. My friend and I had dinner reservations for 6 PM this evening. A half hour into our meal, two tables were pushed together next to us in order to seat a walk-in party of five. I objected to the manager but he ignored me. In order to talk to the 'party of five', the waitress had to squeeze in between our tables. Her backside was literally hanging over the edge of our table! The manager refused to come over and talk to us about this. Totally unappetizing - we ended the evening early. As for the food, the salmon was overdone, the rice was chewy and broccoli overcooked. This was a very disappointing dining experience right before the holidays!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
598 reviews 598 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
“Spectacular birthday celebration with friends in private room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Recently we had the pleasure of hosting a dinner party for 14 people at Laporta's on Duke Street in Alexandria, VA. The occasion was a special birthday for my wife. We arranged ahead of time to use the private room at the back of the main restaurant.

The table was beautifully set up for with seasonal decorations and flowers. We supplemented with candles and flowers. The restaurant did a beautiful set up for us!

Laporta's is a family-run restaurant that has been in the same location since 1986. Ralph and Mary are Laporta's who did an excellent job for us on this occasion! Paul, the head waiter, was very gracious, friendly and competent!

The food was outstanding. We offered three items for guests to choose from for a main dish. The filet mignon and the salmon were the most popular and were well enjoyed. The appetizers, wine, and desserts were excellent.

If you are going to have a special occasion, you may want to call Laporta's and talk to Mary. She will give you a lot of time and set everything in motion as you have selected. She had assured us about music not being a problem but unfortunately it was a problem.

I have one suggestion. The dinner party was in a private area adjacent to the main restaurant.
It was mostly closed with indoor folding screens but our guests at the end of the table adjacent to the main restaurant had lots of trouble hearing when the band began to play. The music was way too loud. The room needs to be entirely closed off and you need to emphasize the point specificall with Mary at the planning stage.

But the bottom line was that everyone enjoyed the food and the restaurant did a spectacular job in setting the room up and serving! I would recommend you enjoy this restaurant and have a private party here if you receive assurance about the band music.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laporta's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Laporta's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laporta's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.