We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vermilion Restaurant

Vermilion Restaurant
1120 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
703 684 9669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vermilion Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fayette St.
Transit: King St. Metro Station Using the King Street Trolley, get off at the Fayette St. Stop coming in either direction.
Description: Vermilion features Chef William Morris' menu of Contemporary American cuisine. Complimenting Chef Morris' menu is Vermilion's wine list, named one of the top wine lists in the country by Restaurant Hospitality Magazine. Combining a charming location in Old town Alexandria with stylized design and atmosphere, Vermilion represents a bit of downtown sophistication: from the exposed brick in the upstairs dining room to the overstuffed pillows in the lounge downstairs, Vermilion holds something for all tastes.
Alexandria, Virginny, USandA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“An Excellent Standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Recently went for the wife's birthday--she loves this place. Parking was easy at 6:15pm on a side street two blocks away. The reservation was in and we were seated immediately. And at our table were the flowers I ordered through the Open Table ancillary services--very good.

The meal was very good, as always--this is at least the fifth time we've been here. The initial offering was "compliments of the chef," a tiny little radish shaving with some very nice tuna tartate on it. It was excellent, but honestly, the size of a postage stamp. All we'd need would be, say, another two dozen of those and we'd be good to go. The steak tartare was particularly good and a surprisingly large portion, very nice. The striploin was excellent, as was the wife's duck, with very good sides. The cinnamon fritters and six-cheese selection also was very good. The good was excellent, as always.

But service was a bit off. Way too much time waiting for refills on water after our sparkling water ran out, and this was after asking for water. Ordered a second beer and more wine, and that also took a lot longer than it should have. Nice lady, but things were a bit slow, given the prices we're paying.

Will we go back? Of course we will, probably this time next year.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    87
    22
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful presentation, fine dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place is a wonderful place for fine dining for special occasions. The bar I think has the best of all worlds because it has a separate menu, in addition to the menu for the rest of the place. Unfortunately, you can't get the bar food in the restaurant. Small plates are small. Expensive.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Date Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were greeted very graciously when we arrived for our reservation and quickly seated upstairs at a cozy table overlooking the holiday streetscape below. Server was knowledgeable, efficient but non-obtrusive. The table spacing allowed for a feeling of privacy. Lighting is elegant but sufficient.

Manhattans were very well priced for call brand, though slightly watery. Would ask next time for more unusual bitters. Used Amerone cherries, which I love.

Entree portions were smaller, as the server had advised, but the salad would have been enough for two. It was a wonderful and perfectly balanced mix of salty, sweet, tangy and acidic. Maybe my favorite side salad ever!

Monkfish was tender and full of flavor: would order this again. Beef Tartare appetizer would not be recommended again, as it was ground and made into a patty and did not have a lot of flavor. All items were regionally sourced and creatively combined for texture and flavor adventure. Limited offerings so check the menu for the night if you are a steak and chicken fan: entrees that night included lamb, venison, Fluke.

Love the atmosphere and low key vibe of this restaurant, and love the staff. Management strolled and watched carefully: Vermillion obviously cares and wants to retain its status as a favorite restaurant in Old Alexandria. So far my favorite there: elegant but unassuming. Perfect date night!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated my husband's 50th birthday and our anniversary at Vermilion. I let them know in advance, and we were greeted at check in with well wishes for both. The waitress then brought our table of four glasses of complimentary champagne, and at the end of dinner, we were presented with a birthday card and an anniversary card thanking us for choosing Vermilion at which to celebrate.
The food was exceptional! As was the service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Vibrant atmosphere, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I spent date night at vermillion. We were seated in the front where there are only a few tables. The large bar area, which was packed, was immediately behind us, and while the crowd was energetic, they were not annoying.

Service was outstanding, with attention to detail re: place settings, etc. I had the grilled octopus for an appetizer which was delicious. Our entrees were very good as well, although my wife's chicken was a bit on the dry side. Desserts were a bit too exotic for our taste so we passed on it this time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermilion Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vermilion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vermilion Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.