We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, intimate dinner in Alexandria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vermilion Restaurant

Vermilion Restaurant
1120 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314
703 684 9669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vermilion Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 648 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fayette St.
Transit: King St. Metro Station Using the King Street Trolley, get off at the Fayette St. Stop coming in either direction.
Description: Vermilion features Chef William Morris' menu of Contemporary American cuisine. Complimenting Chef Morris' menu is Vermilion's wine list, named one of the top wine lists in the country by Restaurant Hospitality Magazine. Combining a charming location in Old town Alexandria with stylized design and atmosphere, Vermilion represents a bit of downtown sophistication: from the exposed brick in the upstairs dining room to the overstuffed pillows in the lounge downstairs, Vermilion holds something for all tastes.
Lebanon, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Cozy, intimate dinner in Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I were in Alexandria over Easter weekend, and selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. Make your reservations in advance on the weekend! We were seated upstairs next to a window in the brick-walled room, and could look down on the street activity...it was very cozy. Service was great, our server chose our wine based on the type of wines we usually like, and the meal was wonderful. We would definitely go back (and definitely ask to be seated upstairs near a window!!).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    125
    80
    20
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Sophisticated Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had looked forward to dining here after seeing some other reviews for it in a town full of restaurant choices. We now consider it our top choice in Alexandria. Outstanding service and attention to table details by the waiters. When our first choice for a specific menu bourbon was unavailable, they brought us one "on the house." The oystwer appetiser, recommended by our waiter, was wonderful and plenty to share. The entress included sophisticated side dishes that matched perfectly with our lamb and fish main courses. We did not choose to do the tasting menu but our neighboring table did and they were very pleased. Great wine list; gtreat servcie; inspired food choices; and pleasant "adult" atmosphere--can't miss. The downstairs bar was popular and isolated from the dininers. Perfect evening for us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Innovative excellence in old town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

An intimate setting upstairs with a window seat for people watching made for a delightful evening. Attentive and relaxed service accompanied a very good meal, with some treats thrown in for our anniversary. A pleasant walk from our old town hotel right on the King Street strip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Verily, delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A recent rainy day lunch at Vermilion convinced me that this remains one of Old Town's best restaurants. My lunch partner ordered, relished and devoured her perfectly cooked cheeseburger on what appeared to be a homemade roll. A tossed side salad accompanied the burger in place of the always good fries. I, however, chose the pimento cheese spread appetizer with a bowl of Sunchoke soup with smoked squid pear and chocolate nibs. Believe me this bowl of soup is beyond delicious, creamy, smooth and flavorful. The slightly crunchy squid are truly the icing on the cake elevating the taste and texture of this entree. The pimento spread remains a favorite and is always enough to take home for n afternoon nosh! This is a great place to have an old favorite or to venture into new food areas. (It is,however time for a little remodel...the velvet flocked panels look tired).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very nice upstairs quiet dining with excellent lamb entree but pork 4 ways was disappointing. Excellent service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermilion Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vermilion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vermilion Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;