We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food, Great Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's Grand Irish Pub

Murphy's Grand Irish Pub
713 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3014
703-548-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We ended up here while visiting Washington D.C. on the recommendation of the front desk staff at our hotel. Needless to say we weren't disappointed. Even for a Sunday night dinner there was awesome live music (playing traditional Irish music) and the service/food were great! We had the shepherd's pie, fish & chips, crab-cake sandwich, and meatloaf. Everything was full of flavor and wonderful. The beer was also great! I highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    111
    44
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We arrived near the end of the England World Cup match and the place was packed, yet they were able to seat us within 10 minutes. The food was your typical Irish pub fare. I had the corned beef and my wife had the fish and chips. The highlight of the meal was my son's kids mac and cheese though. It was delicious.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great deal for Old Town. Great prices on beer and it was wing night. Had a blast with a group of friens.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Grand indeed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stopped in for a couple of drinks and stayed for hours. Thank goodness for the free trolley! The Guinness is perfect as well as the atmosphere and company. If you like anything about an Irish pub you'll want to be stopping by.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lick, In
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Just Drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We went in Murphy's for an afternoon drink during Happy Hour. Cute pub with very good service. Didn't try any food but the menu looked good.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Grand Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Murphy's Grand Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.