We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's Grand Irish Pub

Murphy's Grand Irish Pub
713 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3014
703-548-1717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 651 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was a great night out, the pub had plenty of atmosphere, good value meals and drink, we were in a large group, so we were seated up stairs, it was a very crowded place, but the service was superb.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysparties, General Manager at Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello MitchMitch22,

I want to thank you for your visit to Murphy's Irish Pub.

I am truly happy that you enjoyed your time here and that the atmosphere you felt was to your liking. The service, along with our food, is a large part of why we continue to be successful and we would not be here without our wonderful customers, so thank you.

Hopefully if you ever find yourself in Alexandria again, i can have the pleasure to meet you face to face and thank you in person.

Thank you again,

Kenny Mitchell. General Manager, Murphy's Irish Pun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    111
    44
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hard to Hear, Typical Pub, Cramped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I don't know that this is any place to write home about.
The service was good, the bar was always busy, and the music was definitely LOUD!
That is actually why we left, it seemed cramped, and the one man band, continued to whail music that no one had ever heard of and was so loud that I was getting hoarse just talking to friends. When we went to stand up and "mingle" around the bar, there was NO SPACE, you have to trade places with someone and are screaming SORRY! to prevent spilling your beer on them, and to ensure they hear you over this deafening music.
Maybe try going there when there isn't live music, we went on a Saturday night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun and good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I go to Alexandria once a year and I like to try new restaurants but always go back to Murphy's. Everything I've had there is great, especially the fish and chips and any of the Irish entrees. Atmosphere is great, very fun and cozy but not cramped. Entertainment is good, I believe it starts at 9? If you're in Alexandria make sure you eat here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysparties, General Manager at Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Hi Michale,

I just want to take a few moments of your time to thank you for the many years that you have made the effort in stopping by Murphy's Irish Pub. That really means a lot and as i am sure your aware, there are many choices out there. And then to take the time from your life to post such a nice review here on TA, i can't thank you enough.
Please come ask for me the next time you are in town so i can meet you in person.
Have a great end of summer and i will be looking forward to meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
892 reviews 892 reviews
424 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Irish pub atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I really love this place because it makes me think of a true Irish pub! I love the food, and the prices are definitely right. My only complaint is that things are starting to look a bit run-down. Go patronize the place so they can make sure it get the attention it deserves. =)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysparties, General Manager at Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Hello Whitney,

Thank you for the wonderful review and advice on Murphy's Irish Pub. We are very fortunate to have so many wonderful and caring customers like you.
I would love to chat with you sometime on your next planned visit to the restaurant and hopefully get to know you more and also thank you in person for the continued business.
Until then, have a great rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Neat pub atmosphere. However the food was below par. The Irish egg rolls were great but the ribs were the worst I have ever had. Service was great

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murphysparties, General Manager at Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hello swbasil,
Thank you for the feedback here on TA.
I am glad to hear that the service was up to par and that our homemade Irish corned beef & cabbage rools went over well.
It's been over 2 years now since Murphy's has offered all you can eat ribs on a Monday night for $14.95, your review of them was the first time we had a complaint. I will investigate what went wrong, get to the bottom of this and make sure that the ribs we sell are of the highest quality.I will check with the chef and find out if the supplier changed who they buy them from.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback and have a great rest of the week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Grand Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Murphy's Grand Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's Grand Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.