We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top notch secret with a great dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dishes of India Fine India

Dishes of India Fine India
1510 Belle View Blvd, Alexandria, VA 22307-6530
703-660-6085
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A top notch secret with a great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

You'll be asking, "A shopping center?", and "A basement?" ... You should answer yourself "yes". Dishes of India has good solid Indian food. Each dish is quality, the sauces are excellent if a little too generous, and the meats are expertly prepared. The chicken, in particular, is prepared beautifully here. The Chicken Tikka is a simple dish but it is done so perfectly that it couldn't be done better.

Added to the excellent food, what really stands out is the service. The staff at Dishes of India are all seasoned professionals; there is no anxiety, just rapid, efficient, friendly service. They are unobtrusive when you don't need them, and they are there when you need them. Everyone from the manager to the busboy knows the menu and can and will get anything you need. They'll explain the dishes, recommend, advise, or not as needed.

The downside of this place is it in a beautifully decorated basement, but still a basement. No windows, no view at all. However, the staff an the food make up for it completely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Some of the best Indian food in the DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Tucked away downstairs in the BelView shopping center just off the Memorial Parkway (about a mile outside the Alexandria City limits....start south on Washington street and it turns into the Parkway) the restaurant is a bit hard to find but well worth the effort. A nice variety of chicken, lamb, and vegetarian dishes that are superbly cooked, seasoned and served. The atmosphere is casual and you can actually have a conversation with friends. Their popularity has grown so you might need reservations if you want to dine at prime time on Friday or Saturday night. Don't miss the Buttered Chicken!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Mo
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
906 helpful votes 906 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is in a shopping center so don't expect a lot of atmosphere but you will get some great Indian food. The food is reasonably priced and it is very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical when I had to ask down into a basement just to get into the restaurant, but from there it was a pleasant surprise. The food was very good. The naan was a little crispy for my tastes, but the main entrees were excellent. I had the aloo saag, and it more than met my expectations. The rice was cooked perfectly, and I thoroughly enjoyed my mango lassi as well. The waiters were friendly and accommodating. Overall, a recommended eatery.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I wandered into this nondescript restaurant located in a small Alexandria strip mall and was very pleased to enjoy one of the best Indian meals I've had outside of India! Suman (manager or owner) was very friendly and made an excellent recommendation for a shrimp curry dish.

Highly recommend you try it! I wonder if they deliver . . .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dishes of India Fine India also viewed

 

Been to Dishes of India Fine India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dishes of India Fine India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.