We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best Indian food in the DC area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dishes of India Fine India

Dishes of India Fine India
1510 Belle View Blvd, Alexandria, VA 22307-6530
703-660-6085
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 654 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Some of the best Indian food in the DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Tucked away downstairs in the BelView shopping center just off the Memorial Parkway (about a mile outside the Alexandria City limits....start south on Washington street and it turns into the Parkway) the restaurant is a bit hard to find but well worth the effort. A nice variety of chicken, lamb, and vegetarian dishes that are superbly cooked, seasoned and served. The atmosphere is casual and you can actually have a conversation with friends. Their popularity has grown so you might need reservations if you want to dine at prime time on Friday or Saturday night. Don't miss the Buttered Chicken!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit, Mo
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
862 helpful votes 862 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is in a shopping center so don't expect a lot of atmosphere but you will get some great Indian food. The food is reasonably priced and it is very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical when I had to ask down into a basement just to get into the restaurant, but from there it was a pleasant surprise. The food was very good. The naan was a little crispy for my tastes, but the main entrees were excellent. I had the aloo saag, and it more than met my expectations. The rice was cooked perfectly, and I thoroughly enjoyed my mango lassi as well. The waiters were friendly and accommodating. Overall, a recommended eatery.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I wandered into this nondescript restaurant located in a small Alexandria strip mall and was very pleased to enjoy one of the best Indian meals I've had outside of India! Suman (manager or owner) was very friendly and made an excellent recommendation for a shrimp curry dish.

Highly recommend you try it! I wonder if they deliver . . .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“India for lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This Indian buffet is nestled below ground level. The sitar music and underground feeling gives a visitor the impression that one has left Alexandria behind and is enjoying India instead. The buffet contains salad, entree, and dessert options. There are ample vegetarian selections, as well as typically two types of meat. They also serve naan and lassi. The staff is friendly and courteous. Great place to get yummy Indian food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dishes of India Fine India also viewed

 

Been to Dishes of India Fine India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dishes of India Fine India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.