We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice view from the bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chart House Restaurant

Chart House Restaurant
1 Cameron St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3235 (Old Town)
703-684-5080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Union Street
Transit: King Street Metro Station
sherwood park, Alberta
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“nice view from the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

we went here to relax and grab a drink before going out to dinner. there is a lovely view from the bar of the Potomac river, specially the bridge and its lights that cross nearby. catch it just before the sun goes down and linger on until the lights come on for a while.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    217
    107
    52
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison Heights, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Without a tourist crowd this is a wonderful place for lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Its hours are shorter off season but the food and wine is superb and the local staff really want to please. Reggie took really good care of me and I'll eat their vegetable fritters any day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Awesome View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We took a cruise up the Potomac River and on our return decided to eat at the Chart House Restaurant (conveniently located on the dock). No window tables were available but our table was on an elevated part of the floor -- we had a better view that a window table. Even though the restaurant was full -- we felt like we were the only ones -- couldn't hear anyone else's conversations! Had excellent service!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views & Ok Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a beautiful view, this is the place in Alexandria. If your looking for dine dining and exceptional food, there are other nearby options but without a view. We come here when we're seeking nice views.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent views but the food was disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was a Saturday night and very busy. Service was good but could have been better. The A/C was up so high you needed jackets to keep warm. Food was good but could've been better -- both had fish and it was a bit dry [maybe because it was so busy it had been sitting]. Might go back for lunch but not for dinner.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chart House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chart House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.