We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy hour!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chart House Restaurant

Chart House Restaurant
1 Cameron St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3235 (Old Town)
703-684-5080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 651 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Union Street
Transit: King Street Metro Station
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Happy hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

When in Alexandria, we always do the Happy Hour at the Chart House. Great food and drinks, at very reasonable prices. Get there at sunset, as the views are wonderful!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    216
    107
    52
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“If you just don't want to take a chance....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed an overnight in Old Town at the Embassy Suites the weekend after Valentines Day and needed somewhere to eat on a Saturday Night. Just didn't want to take a chance with some of the local bars/restaurants and was glad to find the Chart House. Didn't have a reservation and despite the weather being really cold, they were booked solid. Like some other reviewers said though, we went to the bar and had a drink and kept an eye on the tables until one opened up and sat down and ate in the bar area. Wasn't as nice as the restaurant (crowded and loud) but same great service and food. If you are looking for a classy place, great views, solid food and great service this is a safe bet and I've never been disappointed. My wife had Mahi and I had the Coconut Shrimp and both were great...Mahi a little better I'd say. Then we shared a Mud Pie for dessert which never fails to satisfy! This would be a great place when the weather is nice but I'd highly suggest you make a reservation if you want a seat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Seafood Lovers Beware!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location for dinner, lunch or just cocktails. If you love seafood you MUST try this restaurant plus the view is great in the Spring or summer, try sitting outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best waterfront restaurant in Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

It has the best seafood, you can get seats at the bar if you have no reservations, otherwise you will wait for at least 45 minutes. Has water view from all seats, but try to get seats at the corner tower! It is worth to visit the place!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Pefection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Staff was incredibly friendly. Our server was awesome. He was all ears, paid attention to detail, was there when we needed him, he was helpful and very pleasant. The food was excellent. The table ordered hummus as an appetizer and I was never a huge fan of it but after tasting it here, I have changed my mind. The food was delicious, well cooked, full of flavor and the drinks were well made. I love that it overlooks the river and the interior of this place is gorgeous, especially the fire place they have in the back corner.

We managed to get there for their lunch menu which serves perfect portions at a great price however I noticed that if we had gone for the dinner menu, most of the options change (which is expected) but some of the choices that were the same were almost triple the price. I don't think you will find any meals at dinner time for under $20 each so it gets pricey but again, I think it's to be expected.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chart House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chart House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.