We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LA Madeleine French Bakery

LA Madeleine French Bakery
500 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3104 (Old Town)
(703) 739-2854
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 651 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Bakery, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Old Town
Dumfries, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love This Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've been to this cafe a handful of times, I just love it. It's one of my favorite places to eat when I'm in that area. The food/desserts are consistently good. On my last visit I had the chicken parisien with a cup of the tomato basil soup. The sandwich had chicken, bacon, cheddar, lettuce, tomato, and mayo....it was heavenly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    145
    43
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Quick service, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stopped by because most of the other restaurants were at capacity and we were starving. This was a great choice. For a casual fast food restaurant the food was delicious, tasted fresh, and the service was solid.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Acceptable pastry and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Not the best coffee and pastry I have had but acceptable. The coffee is premade and in a large pot so it was lukewarm. The croissants were flaky and fresh. The service was mediocre. It was fairly unorganized and not clear how ordering was supposed to happen. I actually preferred the cosi further up King St.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in on a chilly afternoon and enjoyed the great options for soup, salad and sandwiches. The onion and potato soup were both tasty and turkey with provolone was very good. It's a bit noisy but good for families. The pastries looked fantastic!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We grabbed a quick breakfast to go here and found it delicious! We got assorted croissants and a blueberry muffin and everything was great. No complaints. The place itself is pretty big and has a lot of seating. Not sure why anyone would rate it low.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Madeleine French Bakery also viewed

 

Been to LA Madeleine French Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LA Madeleine French Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.