We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy 50th” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Andree Restaurant

Chez Andree Restaurant
10 E Glebe Rd, Alexandria, VA 22305-2998
703-836-1404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Happy 50th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

we had a 50th Party The food fantastic service Great !!! The Duck and the Lamb both fab!!!! must try Great food also a great value !!!! Thanks Steve and everyone at Chez Andree !!!
The Teklliard Family

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Three and one-half stars on food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As another reviewer commented, the food was good, but didn't particularly "wow" us. The atmosphere is lovely and consistent with a restaurant in France. The staff is gracious, making the dining experience pleasant and similar to eating overseas. And the food is better than average, but not quite something I'd give four stars. (IMHO, many TA reviewers overrate restaurants, as they have here. Four stars would be unexpectedly good and five stars would be one in a hundred restaurants.) Chez Andrez thus gets my three and one-half stars for food and four stars for everything else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Always a pleasant experience. The service is top notch and the food sublime! Also have specials with reasonable rates, but check the extensive menu! Wine list and delicious deserts too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“French Cuisine at it Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had a five course meal at Chez Andree, and every bite was a treat for my taste buds! I ordered mussels in a white wine garlic sauce; they were so wonderful! The appetizer, salad, bread, and dessert were also just as amazing. We celebrated my mom's birthday at this restaurant as it is her favorite. They staff doesn't rush you so we were able to talk, visit, and share for several hours at a laid back pace. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and the staff is top notch. This is a busy restaurant so it is helpful to call ahead. My mom said they make the best Pisco Sours as well. I had a glass of wine that the waiter recommended; he picked the perfect type for my tastes. They also have specials all the time so you can check out their websites if you want to save some money. This is almost like dining in the middle of France. I highly recommend this place to you and your family!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Like dining with a cozy French family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was one of my family's favorite restaurants when I was growing up. It has remained first-rate. Classic French cuisine in a Provincial style, very cozy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Andree Restaurant also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Chez Andree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Andree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.