We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three and one-half stars on food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Andree Restaurant

Chez Andree Restaurant
10 E Glebe Rd, Alexandria, VA 22305-2998
703-836-1404
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 615 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Three and one-half stars on food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As another reviewer commented, the food was good, but didn't particularly "wow" us. The atmosphere is lovely and consistent with a restaurant in France. The staff is gracious, making the dining experience pleasant and similar to eating overseas. And the food is better than average, but not quite something I'd give four stars. (IMHO, many TA reviewers overrate restaurants, as they have here. Four stars would be unexpectedly good and five stars would be one in a hundred restaurants.) Chez Andrez thus gets my three and one-half stars for food and four stars for everything else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Always a pleasant experience. The service is top notch and the food sublime! Also have specials with reasonable rates, but check the extensive menu! Wine list and delicious deserts too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“French Cuisine at it Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had a five course meal at Chez Andree, and every bite was a treat for my taste buds! I ordered mussels in a white wine garlic sauce; they were so wonderful! The appetizer, salad, bread, and dessert were also just as amazing. We celebrated my mom's birthday at this restaurant as it is her favorite. They staff doesn't rush you so we were able to talk, visit, and share for several hours at a laid back pace. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and the staff is top notch. This is a busy restaurant so it is helpful to call ahead. My mom said they make the best Pisco Sours as well. I had a glass of wine that the waiter recommended; he picked the perfect type for my tastes. They also have specials all the time so you can check out their websites if you want to save some money. This is almost like dining in the middle of France. I highly recommend this place to you and your family!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like dining with a cozy French family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was one of my family's favorite restaurants when I was growing up. It has remained first-rate. Classic French cuisine in a Provincial style, very cozy.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine FL
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food and service with old world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A friend and I ordered identical meals with wine, a house salad, chicken florentine, and coffee. Chicken was wonderful and served with 3 vegetables and a smaller scoop of rice. Service was attentive but not pushy. Decor is old family restaurant that was quite nice. My friend has dined here often.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Andree Restaurant also viewed

 
Alexandria, VA
 

Been to Chez Andree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Andree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.