We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptive sign? We're not sure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bugsy's Pizza & Sports Bar

Bugsy's Pizza & Sports Bar
111 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3207 (Old Town)
(703) 683-0313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 651 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Old Town
Lily Lake, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Deceptive sign? We're not sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The pizza here was good, and it came to the table much quicker than we were expecting. However, we were drawn in by a sandwich board outside proclaiming a pizza and salad buffet. When we were seated, we found out that it was only for lunch, and had ended several hours before. We decided to stay, and while we were eating, witnessed several other groups also come in expecting the buffet. They all stayed, as we had. Makes one a bit suspicious that the sign was left out by design.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    46
    20
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummy weekday lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

A hotel employee recommended Bugsy's as a good place for sports, beers, and pizza. We went at lunchtime on Friday and thoroughly enjoyed the "old bar" atmosphere and the delicious pizza and salad buffet for only $8.95/person. The salad bar was basic but very fresh, and the choice of pizzas varied from thin-crust cheese pizza to deep-dish loaded veggie. We spent our 90 minutes savoring an interesting and tasty variety of pizzas and draft beers while watching Mercer upset Duke on one of the many tv's in both the dining room and upstairs in the bar proper. I will definitely go back on my next trip to Old Town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Saturday night pizza and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

They are known for their deep dish pizza. We had the Bugsy Power Play Deluxe (minus anchovies). Lots of fresh toppings and cheese but the whole pie could have been a little more done. A nice place to meet friends and share a meal.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst Pizza ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I were told by a hotel employee that this place has the best pizza and food in Old Town Alexandria. She must not know good food because the pizza was awful! We like thin crust pizza and theirs was not real pizza dough. It tasted like the cheapest frozen kind you get at the super market. I guess we were disappointed since we have had great pizza at Pete's A Pizza in Columbia Heights which is the best in DC. Service was just OK, but check your bill because the waiter added wine to our check that wasn't ours.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great service, delicious pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our waitress was very attentive and helpful--definitely went above and beyond. We ordered Caesar salad which was huge and very good (enough for 3 of us to share!). The Med pizza had wonderfully fresh ingredients and the Big Play deluxe pizza was hearty and flavorful. The crust was just the right texture and seasoned appropriately--not overbearing to take away from the pizza, but delicious enough to not leave it behind (even the kiddos finished theirs--and that's saying something). We'll definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bugsy's Pizza & Sports Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bugsy's Pizza & Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bugsy's Pizza & Sports Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.