We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks are Deceiving! Great menu and delicious Cajun and Creole food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RT's Restaurant

RT's Restaurant
3804 Mount Vernon Ave, Alexandria, VA 22305-2409
703-684-6010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
RT's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 647 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Glebe Rd
Transit: Bus at corner of Russell and Mount Vernon Avenue
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Looks are Deceiving! Great menu and delicious Cajun and Creole food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I found this restaurant on the Internet when I was searching for a new restaurant with high ratings. I love cajun and creole food, so I asked my son if he would like to meet me for a new dining experience. When we first got there, I was a bit disappointed by the outside of the building. It is one that I normally wouldn't give a second glance. But, happily, we went inside. The restaurant decor is what you might expect from the outside of the building--nothing fancy. However, we were wowed by their extensive menu and their specials. It was hard to decide between the specials, but my son had the grilled tuna steak sandwich with garlic aioli sauce and red beans and rice (replacing the french fries). The sandwich was huge, and he said it was delicious. I had the haddock special that was coated with corn meal and served over a slightly spicy crawfish succotash. I shared one bite, but then I gobbled up the rest. It was very good and plentiful. I think each of our meals were around the $13-$14 dollar range.

We both agreed that we will definately return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    33
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Cajun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Off the beaten path but worth the trip. Best Cajun north of the bayou. Can't get enough of their crawfish etouffee.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great New Orleans Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The title pretty much says it. Prices suggest that you save it for a special event, though. With tax and tip, budget $30 each, plus alcohol. People in shorts and t-shirts may suffer under the air conditioning but hey, it serves them right. Plenty of on-street parking, with a free public lot a half block to the left, as you face the restaurant. The food is great, but the specials tend to be stand-outs.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitcat22
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Waitresses should smile...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Been here several times, live the food. But is a pleasant waitress too much to ask for? Wish I'd been seated where the waiter was serving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent the last week of June in Washington, DC and the surrounding area. During our visit, we ate out every meal, including many terrific meals, as you might expect in our nation's capitol.

Hands down, the best meal we had was at RT's in Alexandria. The four in our party, including my ten year old granddaughter, ordered something different from their Cajun inspired seafood menu. Every item (we shared with each other) was excellent, as was the service.

Our overall experience at RT's was excellent and we will definitely go back on our next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RT's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to RT's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RT's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.