We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evening Star Cafe

Evening Star Cafe
2000 Mount Vernon Ave, Alexandria, VA 22301-1310
703-549-5051
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Evening Star Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #262 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Howell Ave.
Transit: 10 minute walk from the Braddock Road Metro
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have been there on a number of occasions, and love the atmosphere. Feels like a small town rather than the hustle and bustle of the big city. The halibut is tasty, they have a nice wine selection, and the appetizers are all great. Definitely a must if in Alexandria.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    35
    23
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Professional service & Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

enjoyed interesting well-cooked food here early one Saturday evening although we were a bit mystified you had to go through the Majestic Bar doorway to get to the restaurant. Strange unique artworks made of erector sets, lights bulbs and other bits and pieces deck the walls etc.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delightful and Delish!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stumbled on this restaurant, not knowing its reputation, but the decor (clever and unusual with lots of erecter set materials) and the food captivated us. I had my first fried chicken and waffles. Wow! (Could have used a tad more syrup, but the spicy butter was inspired). The bloody mary had too much black pepper, but the mini grilled cheese and bacon atop it made up for that!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were in town for a conference and had dinner Sunday evening at the Evening Star Cafe. Great neighborhood place with nice ambiance. Wine list is extensive and has plenty of local choices. The food was delicious and the service was terrific. The scallop appetizer was cooked perfectly - a great sear on the outside. The duck entree and rib eye entree were delicious and had great depth of flavor. The grasshopper cake for dessert was a great way to end the meal. If we are back in the area we would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Proud to call this our new neighborhood go- to !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Never having been disappointed, I made arrangements for visiting relatives to spend a special birthday here. That, and our own special celebration of joining the neighborhood tonight by buying a home, did NOT disappoint! Thank you, Chris!! Thank you, Evening Star!! ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evening Star Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Evening Star Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evening Star Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.