We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar to get drinks before or after dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Street Public House

Union Street Public House
121 S Union St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3323 (Old Town)
703-548-1785
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $21 - $21
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Old Town
wilmington nc
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Bar to get drinks before or after dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Bartenders very attentive, service was fast. Very busy place but liked it as a bar. Bartenders very versed at making you what and how you wanted on drinks! Just Ask!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    55
    49
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Colonial Vibe, Decent Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you like historical buildings and decent food, then this restaurant should fit the bill. It takes you back to the colonial era and the food is very American.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hadn't been in years but had friends visiting and thought it would be a great place to accommodate seven of us, with three teens. We waited for 30 minutes and when seated, the place was nearly empty. We were given menus and it took forever for the server to take our orders. That is when we discovered that the majority of the menu items were not available for ordering, including burgers. The meal was so-so at best and in all, it took us two hours to get out--with very few other people in the place. It is a great location and for beer drinkers, it is a fun spot for a drink. Just don't make the mistake of eating there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great Crabcakes and Atmosphebout re”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was my first visit here and I loved the laid back colonial ambiance. The crab cakes were superb and I am very picky about mine. They were 80% lump crabmeat and what you expect in a good Chesapeake region crabcake. I paired mine with a nice beer on tap. Enjoyed the whole experience

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We used to eat and have drinks here all the time, but the past two times going (in the past couple of years) have proven very mediocre.

Stopped in today for an appetizer and drinks. Got the drinks which weren't very well made... the white wine had bubbles rising in it?? Both glasses were somewhat dirty and covered in finger prints. There was a clearly drunk lady screaming (during the day time) at every joke she heard in the bar and really noisy. A few customers left, and so did we. Went to another local place for dinner instead.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Street Public House also viewed

 

Been to Union Street Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Street Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.