We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale French” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LA Bergerie Restaurant

LA Bergerie Restaurant
218 N. Lee Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703- 683-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
LA Bergerie Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 647 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Queen and N. Lee
Transit: King Street Metro
Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Upscale French”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Lovely, intimate French restaurant in a very quaint area of Alexandria. It was late on a Tuesday, so very few people were there. Service was outstanding, and they cooked my Dover Sole at the table, it was wonderful, just melted in my mouth. I ordered the Asparagus w/hollandaise, but they were out of it, so that was disappointing. I ordered the creamed spinach instead, but wasn't impressed. the side of creamed cauliflower was very good though. It is very expensive though.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you Lynda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    25
    13
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and community involvement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Have been twice recently, having learned about the menu and the lovely owners because they donate gift certificates to worthy causes. I didn't win/buy the certificates, but just knowing that they support the community makes a difference in where I spend my few eating out dollars.
Great food, great staff, personal attention -- and a great location that's out of the general traffic. Enjoyed both visits immensely.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much Kathy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delectable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is our favorite local restaurant. My wife and I visited yesterday to celebrate my birthday and we were not disappointed. We love the intimate atmosphere, personable service, and the food is simply delectable. The entire experience is like being in France, even down to the expresso! Now, France yes but I started my meal with a delicious cool, refreshing bowl of Gazpacho soup--it was 95+ degrees outside--while my wife enjoyed a nice bowl of French onion soup. We both enjoyed Black Angus Sirloin Steak Rossini-style with Crispy Shallots and Bordelaise Sauce--to die for--and we topped that off with a dessert so wonderful I can still taste it...Chocolate Molten Cake with a Pistachio Cream Anglaise. We're going back next week!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Mike - We're very happy you had such a "delectable" experience and you'll be visiting us again! (PS-Happy Belated Birthday)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Almost like a neighborhood bistro in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's on the second floor of an old historic building - a cozy, informal environment. Service was slow but food was worth waiting for. In a word - YUM. Best of all was the crepes suzette - save room for it - portion is perfect to share. Definitely will go again if back in Alexandria.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the nice review! Happy to know you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very good food, attentive service--we'll return for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The four course and three course menus provide plenty of nice options for anyone who loves good food, from the argula and truffle oil salad and gravlax and fennel salad to the goat cheese stuffed chicken braised and braised lamb we throughly enjoyed ourselves. The wine pairing was an nice touch too. You could probably skip the wine pairing to help reduce your cost to just under 150 (including tax and tip), but the wine selection was soo good and spot on that it was worth. Will likely return in the future to see what new additions they've made to the menu. Some snark at the truffle oil but I rather enjoyed it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you - very happy your enjoyed everything and we'll look forward to having you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Bergerie Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to LA Bergerie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LA Bergerie Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.