We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like a neighborhood bistro in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LA Bergerie Restaurant

LA Bergerie Restaurant
218 N. Lee Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
+1 703-683-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
LA Bergerie Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 605 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Queen and N. Lee
Transit: King Street Metro
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Almost like a neighborhood bistro in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's on the second floor of an old historic building - a cozy, informal environment. Service was slow but food was worth waiting for. In a word - YUM. Best of all was the crepes suzette - save room for it - portion is perfect to share. Definitely will go again if back in Alexandria.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the nice review! Happy to know you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    28
    16
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very good food, attentive service--we'll return for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The four course and three course menus provide plenty of nice options for anyone who loves good food, from the argula and truffle oil salad and gravlax and fennel salad to the goat cheese stuffed chicken braised and braised lamb we throughly enjoyed ourselves. The wine pairing was an nice touch too. You could probably skip the wine pairing to help reduce your cost to just under 150 (including tax and tip), but the wine selection was soo good and spot on that it was worth. Will likely return in the future to see what new additions they've made to the menu. Some snark at the truffle oil but I rather enjoyed it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you - very happy your enjoyed everything and we'll look forward to having you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

After a long day of walking, this was the stop we made as we walked from the Metro to our Hotel. Wow we are glad we did, one of the best simple meals we could have asked for. A splendid selection of cheeses and meats paired with a great red wine made for the perfect top off to a great day.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Above Average Food, Average Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our food at La Bergerie was amazing - and that's what we came for, right? Definitely one of the top-5 meals I've eaten in my life, but the service and atmosphere just barely prevented this from being a 5-star review. We were seated promptly at a lovely rounded booth, which was nice and romantic since we were celebrating our anniversary. It was a few minutes before a waiter brought us our menus, and his only comment was telling us what the soup of the day was. We were promptly brought water, but were never offered a wine menu (admittedly, later that weekend we were carded to get into the movies. We look young, but one would assume that they would at least ask for our ID and then give us the wine menu, rather than assuming we were under age). We had already chosen not to drink that night, but did find it odd that alcohol was never even offered.

The menu featured two different tasting menus, as well as an a-la-carte selection. We chose to go with the a-la-carte choices, but were disappointed that some of the appetizers were only available through the tasting menu, so we decided to forgo that course. A basket of delicious, warm bread was promptly delivered to our table, and very much enjoyed.

There was a slight delay in our entrees, but the waiter came over and explained to us that the chef had over-cooked my Dover Sole and wanted to start over - resulting in an extra 10 minutes to time it properly with my husband's Buffalo order. We didn't mind, particularly since we were informed right away, and it's worth it to wait for good food! We also enjoyed the crepes suzette for dessert.

Overall, this was an above-average food experience with an average service experience. Service wasn't bad, just very minimal. I don't think I would have minded so much until the end of the night, when our server handed us our check and called us "you guys" - very informal for a formal dining experience. However, I think if we're ever back in Alexandria for a special occasion, we would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us and we appreciate your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“OO LA LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The best french cuisine experience I have ever had!! Ordered the sole which was prepared tableside and just melted in my mouth. Located in the Old Town area within a close walk to King St and the river. Very elegant experience. Would highly recommend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Bergerie Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to LA Bergerie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LA Bergerie Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.