We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LA Bergerie Restaurant

LA Bergerie Restaurant
218 N. Lee Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703- 683-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
LA Bergerie Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Queen and N. Lee
Transit: King Street Metro
Alexandria,VA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Valentine's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Despite some problems in the kitchen, which extended our wait for the entree we spent a delightful Valentine's Day evening. The strolling violinist lent a romantic touch, the waiter who served us was most attentive, letting us know the progress of the kitchen, and filling our glasses to keep us happy. M.Laurent, owner/manager, who could be seen resetting tables and greeting guests, spent a while with us while we had dessert, to apologise for the delay we had experienced. The special menu for a special evening was delicious and beautifully presented, and the contre-temps handled with courtesy.
We will definitely return, hoping the kitchen snags will have been resolved, but I hold my final rating for a future visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your nice review and are happy your enjoyed your experience (we apologize for the wait around the kitchen).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    26
    14
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Long-time gem & special occasion go-to spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place is an Old Town, Alexandria institution, and with good reason. Quality French with dishes expertly prepared and served by a friendly and efficient wait staff, and with booths you can really sink into. It had been a long time since my husband & I had been here---somehow, we had forgotten about this place, though I don't know why---then last summer friends, who love to eat out, suggested meeting here for lunch. Fabulous. A long, good time at the table over lobster, salmon and salad and other dishes. At Christmas, thinking back to our excellent meal the summer before, my husband & I booked ourselves a table for lunch on Christmas Eve. It was another long, glorious, lingering experience. Rock fish, bouilabaisse, crisp salads, excellent breads, lovely wines, all served attentively. The table next to ours was a large party, all family members, some of whom, as we overheard, had flown in from halfway around the world to enjoy what we surmised was a traditional Christmas gathering at La Bergerie. Now we have a new Christmas tradition in our family, too, though we certainly won't wait until then to enjoy La Bergerie again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you Caroline for such a nice review! We're honored to be part of your "holiday tradition"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reston va
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Bouillabaisse this side of the Atlantic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

When we climbed the stairs to La Bergerie for lunch, we were looking for a comfortable French meal and a glass of wine after a day of sightseeing and shopping in Old Town Alexandria. Le Bergerie was recommended so we sat down in their oval booth and relaxed. The menu was both in French and English--easy to translate. The bouillabaisse on the menu looked inviting for a slightly coolish day. It was fantastic. The rouille which was provided in a small container accented the toasts so well you hated to be finished with the French soup. The sauvignon blanc which was served by the glass was perfect as well. We had eaten bouillabaisse originally in the South of France--and it was terrific. The portion at La Bergerie was also memorable. Wait staff was solicitous and helpful. Fun experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison D, Public Relations Manager at LA Bergerie Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review-we're happy you enjoyed everything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I wanted to go out to dinner in Old Town and chose La Bergerie only to be disappointed. The service and atmosphere were good and we enjoyed their wine list (if you’re not looking to spend a lot of money on wine, there aren't many options for a good, moderately priced bottle – ours was $80, which was a “special price”).
The real disappointment was the food. First, we ordered a cheese plate. When the cheese came out, neither food runner nor server could tell us what kind of cheese was on the plate except that one was “Bleu”. It took about twenty minutes (and almost the consumption of all the cheese) for the server to return to give us a description from the chef. We didn’t think much of it, but thought it was odd that no one knew what cheeses were on the menu that evening. For our main course, my husband opted to add the lobster tail to his steak ($15 extra), which was served in the shell. The presentation was beautiful; however, the chef forgot to remove the lobster meat from the shell before cooking so that meat stuck to the shell so much that neither of us could get it out. We sent it back per our server’s suggestion who said the chef would be able to get it “in five seconds”. When the lobster returned, it was not in the shell and appeared to be different meat completely, which was extremely chewy. Wwe decided we weren’t meant to have dessert (not there) and left $250 poorer and unsatisfied.
We hope is was a fluke and we were victims to a bad chef, but we will not be returning to La Bergerie nor would we recommend it. Old Town is full of great restaurants and this is the first that didn’t impress us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had forgotten how wonderful La Bergerie is and what a fabulous dining experience it presents. The atmosphere is elegant but welcoming, with a gentle buzz and flow of conversation. We ate at 6:30 on a Friday and the restaurant was nearly full, with a steady stream of patrons filing tables as they emptied. My crab cake was a touch dry, but nicely flavored. The steak au poivre was beautifully cooked and tasty - even the green beans were delicious (and I'm not usually a fan of these) - and complemented by a lovely and reasonably priced burgundy wine. Grand Mariner soufflé capped off my delicious meal. Everything I had was great, but my husband's choices were even better. The cream of red pepper soup and braised short ribs were amazing. We're already planning to go back to try the lobster with cognac.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Bergerie Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to LA Bergerie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LA Bergerie Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.