We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still A Star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LA Bergerie Restaurant

LA Bergerie Restaurant
218 N. Lee Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703- 683-1007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
LA Bergerie Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $35 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Queen and N. Lee
Transit: King Street Metro
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still A Star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I think I first ate at La Bergerie close to 40 years ago and again last night for an atmospheric Christmas Eve dinner. I find the atmosphere, service, and food to be consistently the best in the City of Alexandria. The experience was enhanced by the softly lit room and the strolling violinist playing classic music of the season. The three course meal last evening was perfect in every way and I would recommend the roasted lobster to any shellfish lover. This was served with a saffron sauced risotto that was perfectly complimented by a glass of muscadet. My seafood and mushroom appetizer with puff pastry was yummy but I picked the buche de noel dessert over my consistently favorite grand marnier souffle. The next table was served the souffle and I was immediately sorry to have missed my favorite even though the chocolate buche de noel was chocolate goodness to the nth power! My husband and I love eating here, it is a comfortable, gracious retreat tucked away off of the King St. strip with the perfect is special place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    26
    14
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An ambrosial experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Such a pleasurable experience, titillating all senses from the moment we entered. The ambiance and lighting were just right and provided the perfect setting for our romantic date night. Staff warm, polite and not intrusive (her pet peeve being interrupted mid-bite). Virgins to French cuisine but everything from each of our tasting menus delighted both palates..Foie Gras..a new guilty pleasure. The food was PERFECTLY seasoned and wanted for nothing. The wine and dessert were excellent compliments to the ambrosial experience...loved it. The only complaint would be the bread was a little hard, but we were't sure if that was the intent...bread aside a 5 star experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice RECOMMENDED restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

we love the restaurant lunch is more reasonably price service has been hit or miss most often a hit the dessert souflees are worth saving room FOR the crepes suzette are like the service hit or miss moften a hit If the have black cod on the menu orse it I still am looking for it again it waS DYNAMITE THE FIRST TIME ALL IN ALL IT MAKES FOR AN ENJOYABLE SPECIAL OCCASION

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The four douse tasting menu is a great buy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant on and off for over 30 years through its change of ownership. The restaurant retains its air of refinement and unhurried service. The great improvement we have noticed over the past few years is the consistently high quality and variety offered on its tasting menu. It is great value. Its wine list though is a bit out of line- some ridiculously pricey wines(for a restaurant in its price league) and some great values. Just have to work through the wine list carefully!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Picked this one up form Tripadvisor as we heard a couple of other groups did last night when we visited the restaurant. Had the 4 course meal - Wagu carpaccio, trumpet mushrooms, lobster and souffle. Premium preparation with excellent sides and sauces. Can't say enough good things - not cheap, though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Bergerie Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to LA Bergerie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LA Bergerie Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.