We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular for a reason” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Cretekou

Taverna Cretekou
818 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3017 (Old Town)
703-548-8688
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $24 - $24
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Popular for a reason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We tried this place after noticing that it always seemed to be crowded. That's for good reason, we found out. The menu features many Greek specialties and is a lot like a menu you'd see in Greece itself. I didn't know how much I'd missed tzatziki and tarmasalata! Wait staff is efficient and fun, there's a back garden, and we look forward to returning on our next visit to Alexandria.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    91
    30
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My favorite restaurant on King st. We came in to share an appetizer on a Thurs. Night. The owners were delightful and the wait staff excellent. The old fellows were playing and singing Greek music. I was encouraged to try the greek white wine and im glad I did because it was delicious! ...we will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Very good Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We ate here in June 2014. Overall the food is very good and I would definitely return. We sat outside on the patio, which was very nice. We started with the tzatziki and Greek salad. The tzatziki was very close to what I've had in Greece. For my entrée, I had an eggplant and cheese dish (I forget the name of it) which was very good as well.

As for the service, while there was nothing wrong with it, I would say that it was just okay. It wouldn't hurt if the service had a little more personality (they were somewhat robotic). Overall, though, this was not a big deal.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun & Festive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hostess is a gem! My out of town guests ask to eat here. The food is always delicious and high quality. The fresh fish is de-boned at the table. Traditional Greek dishes are a comfort food no matter your nationality. The service is professional, yet warm and welcoming. Be prepared to dance, the entertainment is festive. We enjoy sitting in the outdoor garden. Did I mention the melt-in-your-mouth leg of lamb, yum.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was recently in Alexandria, and wanted to try this "well reviewed" Greek restaurant- i was not disappointed!
I am Greek/Australian, and have lived in Greece {in the past} for many years, and found the food offered in this enchanting place- most authentic and delicious. My friend and i came about an hour before closing, and were given polite, well informed recommendations on their specials for that evening, and once our order was given, our food arrived in a timely manner. The standout item: the grilled octopus, in a wine/garlic/olive oil marinande-superb! I felt as if i had been transported to a Greek beach, as i devoured each morsel.
The more formal part of Taverna Cretekou {indoor section} looked to be elegant and had it been cold outside, would have been my choice to enjoy my dinner, however, it was a lovely warm evening and the patio outside with its overhead grape trellis and tiny lights, only further added to a perfect evening.
Will return for sure, to try more delights on my next trip back to Alexandria.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Cretekou also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Cretekou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Cretekou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.