We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun outdoor dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Cretekou

Taverna Cretekou
818 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3017 (Old Town)
703-548-8688
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $24 - $24
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Old Town
Oak Lawn
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun outdoor dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Taverna is just around the corner from the Morrison Hotel. They have a very nice outdoor patio for dining and the interior is also lively and inviting. Nice, friendly owners and staff.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    85
    28
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Wonderful Greek Food since 1973”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I recently visited the Taverna C for two evening meals which were well received by both groups of diners. I try to eat at the Taverna if I am in Old Town Alexandria or in the Washington, DC area. I first ate there shortly after it opened in 1973 and have enjoyed it immensely through the years. It is simply one of my favorite restaurants anywhere. My favorite dish is the Taverna special plate with Moussaka, pastitsio, Dolmades ( stuffed grape leaves), Soudsoukakia, and Spanakopita. For $18 it is a bargain and big enough to split. It is a great combination of flavors. I paired it with a house greek red which was from Kalmada (?) and was wonderful. The second visit I shared a bottle of the house special Santorini from the Heliopoulos winery which was simply divine. I also tried a special desert verikoku Aphrodite, which was poached pears with white wine, honey yogurt and walnuts-a unique dessert. We ate in the garden and enjoyed it, which only added to the pleasure of the meal. I think this is simply a great place for a meal. The staff are great fun and enjoy the banter with them and the owners.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Get your Greek on!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

With the nice weather upon us, a visit to the patio of Taverna Cretekou is a must do!!! I agree with the recommendations of other reviewers who suggest a late lunch. A visit in this "off time" will allow you to linger over some good Greek wine and food in the beautiful outdoor surroundings and avoid the rushed feeling I've sometimes experienced during peak hours. Service is always good, if not a bit overly efficient at times.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Greek to Me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went there on a Friday night, just early enough to get seated instantly. Hope you like people because they're going to be all around you, and close enough to join the conversation, not necessarily a bad thing. My brother had the chicken, there is a lot of it, and he liked it. Now, other than some vacation time in Greece eons ago, I'm not that familiar enough with Greek cooking to offer an expert opinion. I ordered a lamb special. It tasted more like a Yankee pot roast--a good Yankee pot roast--than lamb, but again what do I know. Good atmosphere and a cheery setting are plusses.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location. Eat at the Garden.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very pleasant on the garden under the trees. Try a leisurely late afternoon lunch with a nice bottle of wine, appetizers and then split an entree. Sit toward the back and have a private conversation, or sit near the sidewalk and engage in some people watching. Ask the staff for recommendations, they are very friendly. The food is great for the area. The Greek wine list can use some improvement and a few hot appetizers can be added to the menu. Overall a good experience!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Cretekou also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Cretekou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Cretekou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.