We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food, Very Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geranio Ristorante

Geranio Ristorante
722 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3015 (Old Town)
703-548-0088
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 627 restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Columbus Street
Transit: King Street Metro
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Very Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I followed the recommendations of other Trip Advisors and visited Geranio Ristorante. I was traveling alone, so did not make a reservation. I was seated immediately and enjoyed the authentic Italian atmosphere of the restaurant. I ordered the grilled salmon and it, along with the fresh bread and sides were terrific. The only negative of the experience was that some of the tables are very close to each other and I ended up next to a table to 5 gentlemen and spent part of my dining experience overhearing their entire conversation. However, I would highly recommend if you are in the King's Street area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    60
    36
    9
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Went to the restaurant with wife and 2 kids (7 and 4) without reservation and the gave us the best table (near fire place and outside view). We ordered today's special and all of the seafood was excellent. Had some appetizers and kids menu for children. We had a great time there.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very good food. Nice place. Great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Troy does a great job of delivering great food consistently. Although sometimes it's a little salty. But, we go there a lot and have never had a bad meal there. Everything is fresh, high end preparation, beautiful presentation, great service and very nice decor and environment inside. It feel upscale Northern Italian, which it is. We love this place and can highly recommend it and it's wonderful for a date as it's quite, initmate, and upscale.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful food/ Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We really liked the quality of the food and the service. Because we were staying in Alexandria, I searched TripAdvisor for solid reviews and reasonable prices on the menu. After eating there, I cannot imagine why this little restaurant is not in top 10 in Alexandria.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Perfect for a cozy, romantic night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

While most of my reviews are related to my near constant travel overseas, I occasionaly write one about my neighborhood eateries. Old Town Alexandria has many, and we continue to try out each one, although it will take years to sample them all.

Geranio is close to our house, so we have been remiss in not trying it earlier. Our reluctance has always been the extremely high standards we set for Italian food, having lived in Italy from 2004-2009.

Geranio is, like virtually all Italian restaurants in the U.S., not quite fully Italian, so those expecting a meal like they might get in Parma or Bologna will be disappointed. We came with low expectations and were pleasantly surprised. The chef has taken Italian dishes and in all honesty, has come up with a sinfully delicious unique recipes that will bring us back often.

The four of us tried different dishes, and we all were reluctant to share. My open range roasted chicken on a bed of risotto with a heavenly sauce that took me back to meals in southern Tuscany almost brought tears to my eyes. The pork tenderloin was succulent, with a similar sauce, and the salmon was excellent, although I would never come here for that dish.

What I found particularly enjoyable was the starter bruschetta. There are many variations of this peasant fare, but this one was like none other that I have experienced. The crispy bread with a layer of cheese on it was very off putting. But it came with two sauces for dipping, and both were divine. When I finished the bruschetta, I told the waiter to leave the sauces. They were that luscious.

The dessert, not unlike desserts in Italy, were undistinguished. I wisely chose the berries in cream, which was a perfect ending. My wife chose the tiramisu, and while there are many variations of this Italian dessert, she placed this one way down the list of those she has sampled.

The atmosphere of the restaurant is cozy and warm, perfect for a romantic meal or a gathering of friends who wish to relax and enjoy good food in a quiet setting, the opposite of Murphy's bar across the street. If you want raucous, head over there after you meal at Geranio's.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geranio Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Geranio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geranio Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.