We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shining star in the neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geranio Ristorante

Geranio Ristorante
722 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3015 (Old Town)
703-548-0088
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Geranio Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Columbus Street
Transit: King Street Metro
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A shining star in the neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our meal at Geranio was overall very good to excellent. For an appetizer we had the Roasted Shrimp which was fresh, cooked perfectly and and had an outstanding taste.
Main course was the Oven Roasted Pork Loin and Grilled Salmon. The pork was tender,seasoned well, and a taste treat. The salmon cooked perfectly, seasoned well, and just slightly less fresh than expected which is the only reason we did not give an overall excellent to the food.
Dessert was the Tiramisu which alone is worth seeking out Geranio.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    49
    11
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A nice spot for a decent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I went here for a business meeting and while it was not one of the best Italian dinners I had, it was decent. The wine was less than special, not worth the price and I've had much better elsewhere. The calimari was tasty, well done and the garlic bread was worth tasting. The main course was okay, nothing to rave about and to me over-priced for the plate they delivered. The dessert again was nothing to write hoe about. All things considered I would rather have a real Italian meal in Boston's North End, but if you are stuck for a spot to eat while in this town, it's a place to eat at.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great meal and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a great meal here and the restaurant is very warm and inviting. The doors don't open until 6PM but by the time we left, the place was full. Had the roast pork over creamy grits and it was delicious. Had a primo table in the front by the window. Would definitely return if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I happened upon Geranio while strolling one evening along King St. looking for a restaurant whose menu looked appealing. We had no reservations and the downstairs was rather busy so we were brought to the (empty) upper-level dining area and seated by a window overlooking King St. It was quiet and relaxing, so much so that we felt that other diners who arrived somewhat later and were seated in the upper level were "intruders". So much for unwarranted possessiveness!

The service was a bit slow but we were in no rush, so we actually enjoyed the non-hurried time conversation together. I ordered the special for the evening - risotto with shrimp and peas; my wife spotted the risotto with lobster and (being from a small Nova Scotia fishing village) was intrigued by what the dish would be like. It was terrific - the risotto was perfectly cooked, hot, and flavorful. My dish was, too, but had I known how good the lobster risotto was, I would have ordered it instead. Also, both of us thought the price of the meal was very reasonable.

If and when we have a chance to dine here again, we will and one (if not both) of us know what we will order.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Dine with three couples and all had thumbs up for the food, & service. Restaurant was loud because every table was filled. However, very impressed with the service for as busy as they were. Nice menu selection. Will go back again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geranio Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Geranio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geranio Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.