We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnivore's Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geranio Ristorante

Geranio Ristorante
722 King St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3015 (Old Town)
703-548-0088
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Geranio Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Columbus Street
Transit: King Street Metro
Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Carnivore's Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I had dinner with business associates at Geranio's earlier this week. For a true meat lover - this was an excellent choice. We had appetizers for the table of Calimari, Bruschetta and Grilled Shrimp. All delicious and whetted our appetites for more. We shared the Portabella and Arugula salad which as just right. My husband had the Traditional Osso Bucco and I had the Braised Lamb Shank. Both were delicious, incredibly tender, flavorful and just plain GREAT. Tww of our companions ordered the Oven Roasted Rib Eye which looked incredible and they gave a big thumbs-up. Another ordered the Oven Roasted Sword Fish which was the "prettiest" dish of the evening and also got a huge "YUM" vote. With sadness, we were too satiated to even think about the delicious dessert offerings - but we were so happy and full - was an easy decision at that point. Service was prompt and congenial. A delightful business/friends dinner with excellent food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    49
    11
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband & I celebrated our anniversary with dinner at Geranio's. The staff were very attentive. The food was excellent. My husband had the pasta special with mussels, lobster, crab and scallops over linguini with a tomato cream sauce and I had the crab meat ravioli. We managed to save room for a shared dessert - creme brulee. Perfect ending to our meal. Highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talleyville, Delaware
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Old World Italian in Old Town Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I have been dining at Geranio's for over a decade and have always had a good meal here. The most recent visit included children and grandchildren (10 total), which tested both their menu and their service. Adding to the challenge was the fact that it was Restaurant Week in Alexandria.

One of adults tried the four course special and the rest of us ordered from the standard menu. The grandchildren, who tried different varieties of pasta, gave the food two thumbs up. The adults sampled calamari, risotto, Osso Buco, chicken and flounder. Once again, top marks on food.

With the exception of slow delivery on the four course meal, service was good to very good. Given it was Restaurant Week, they were very crowded for a Tuesday night. Overall, the food and wine prices were reasonable considering that Geranio's in the shadow of Washington, DC. Comparable fare in the city would cost 30 to 50% more.

The decor is simple and homey. Give them a try the next time your are in Old Town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Italian feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Charming decor and the food was good. Not just the chain store Italian fare, more of what I have gotten in Italy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice for a date or anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have used this restaurant three times for an anniversary dinner, Valentines dinner, and just a night out dinner. The menu is a little fancy for those that want something outside the realm of a chain restaurant. The setting is quaint and romantic but they tend to put too many tables in both dining rooms. I would prefer this place giving a little more room to allow couples some privacy. The food was cooked perfectly each time. I had wild mushroom risotto with range free chicken. It was fantastic. Parking in Alexandria is limited. The price for a meal for two will run about $100 with tip.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geranio Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Geranio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geranio Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.