We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Theismann's Restaurant

Joe Theismann's Restaurant
1800 Diagonal Rd, Ste A, Alexandria, VA 22314-2840 (Old Town)
703-739-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Theismann's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 648 restaurants in Alexandria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: King Street
Transit: Joe Theismann's Restaurant is well served by public transportation. The King Street Metro train is located across the street on the blue and the yellow lines, only two stops from Reagan Airport. Also across the street are the Amtrak and VRE trains, Alexandria Dash Bus and REX bus stops as well as the free city Tolley.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great food and service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just a good restaurant which just happens to have Joe's name on it. The food was very tasty, nice recommendation from the staff. Service was very attentive and pricing was good. Nice selection of beers and wines as well. Joe, where were your CFL memories and memorabilia....didn't see anything there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    150
    172
    63
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Theismann's was recommended by the Hampton Inn's front desk. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. It was a little pricier than we expected. The kids wanted steak, so they split the 14 oz NY strip ($35) which was plenty. I had the grilled salmon salad. The salmon was cooked perfectly and wasn't at all dry or overcooked. My husband enjoyed the Philly Cheesecake sandwich. We also tried the lava cake, cheesecake, and peanut butter pie - all were delicious. They offer sandwiches, salads, and chef specials of steak and seafood. It is sort of an upscale sports bar with TVs tunes to sports channels. It is a very short walk from the Hilton and the Hampton Inn in Alexandria. I would recommend this restaurant. Be aware that the salads and sandwiches are reasonably priced, but the specialty dishes will cost $18 and up ($35). Dress is casual.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great gluten free options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

we had 2 dinners at Theismann's. the first quite elegant -- great food, good presentation, and terrific wait staff. the second night we had more casual fare -- also very good and efficient wait staff. the offerings of gluten free fare was huge to us as my husband needs GF food. I ordered off the GF portion on the second night, since his first night dinner was easily as good as mine

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“good value, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Right next door to the Embassy Suites hotel, and across the street fro the Old Town Metro. Great service, good value menu and drinks.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place for a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Has a wide variety of food options, including the usual bar style food. Several TVs to watch the games and a nice place to go if you are looking for a low key, good dining night with a few drinks

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Theismann's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Joe Theismann's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Theismann's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.