We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Theismann's Restaurant

Joe Theismann's Restaurant
1800 Diagonal Rd, Ste A, Alexandria, VA 22314-2840 (Old Town)
703-739-0777
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 627 restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: King Street
Transit: Joe Theismann's Restaurant is well served by public transportation. The King Street Metro train is located across the street on the blue and the yellow lines, only two stops from Reagan Airport. Also across the street are the Amtrak and VRE trains, Alexandria Dash Bus and REX bus stops as well as the free city Tolley.
Carmel, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I had lunch...the food was very good quality...we thought very economical...family friendly

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    136
    145
    59
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went to this restaurant with my new boyfriend and my parents and we left happy and satisfied. We were looking for a restaurant that was quiet enough to have a conversation but not fancy and expensive, and Joe Theirmann's fit this nicely. The food was a little expensive, but very good. We were not able to make a reservation, which was an initial disappointment, but we didn't have to wait long for a table (on Friday night!). The sports decor is really cool and there are TVs all over. I would recommend eating here in a group or with family, but it is not really the place for a quiet meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our third time eating in Joe Theismann's and we've never been the least bit disappointed. Our last trip there I had a house cut pork chop with a shrimp scampi appetizer. Absolutely delicious. Decent pricing too! Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Solid, comforting good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

After a lackluster seafood meal at at recommended spot, we found a good meal in a comfortable setting here. Classic offerings like burgers, steaks and pastas alongside surprisingly good seafood fritters, mussels, and fresh salads. Attentive not-overbearing service. We ended up there twice for dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The service and food was good; price was average. We got a lobster bisque to share for an appetizer...to die for!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Theismann's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Joe Theismann's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Theismann's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.