We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat historic stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern

Gadsby's Tavern
138 N Royal St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3278 (Old Town)
703-548-1288
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gadsby's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 641 restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Cameron Street
Description: Gadsby's Tavern has been offering fine dining since 1770. Enjoy lunch and dinner in one of the elegant Colonial dining rooms. The one-of-a-kind Gadsby's Tavern experience awaits you.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Neat historic stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Though dinner is expensive, brunch is priced just right, with many choices under $15. You still get the historic ambiance, and eat where George Washington once celebrated his birthday, but for less cost. The food is quality and plentiful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    108
    79
    41
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Needs some housecleaning.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This restaurant could use an updating of it's restrooms. The stairway leading down to them was quite dirty. The service was slow, the food mediocre. The staff was more than nice, and the drinks good. I hope they can do some upgrades to make it a better dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Unusual place, enjoyed good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This tavern has been here for hundreds of years. The staff dress in traditional costume and talk about the ghosts in the building. We sat in a very old room with picture rails, coat hooks and a big fireplace while they played mood music. The menu was mixed with salads, soups, meat etc trying to recreate the atmosphere of the time. The food was good and my DH can recommend the traditional ales. It was empty unfortunately with no atmosphere but would be fantastic if filled with people. I was nervous eating here after dragging in my party of 4 and nobody in but we really enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate at Gadsby's one night after a long day in D.C. There was a WONDERFUL Italian gentleman that sat us. He chatted and long story short gave my daughter her meal for free because she didn't like the mac n cheese. He also gave her an AMAZING dessert-pudding, fresh fruit and cake. SO YUMMY! The food was great. The Italian Man who sang gets a thumbs up-highly recommend the restaurant just to experience him!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Bit of History, Good Food, and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Is there any other place to dine after a day touring Mount Vernon? After marveling about all of George Washington's accomplishment and touring his estate, we decided to have dinner at Gadsby's Tavern where he and Martha frequented. Thomas Jefferson had his Inauguration at this restaurant as well. We started our meal with the baked Brie...very yummy. I expected it to be sweeter with more jam. For our entrees we shared the crab cakes and duck. Both were good. Not the best we ever had but satisfying. For dessert we had the Berry Heaven and Trifle. Both were tasty and a great way to end a wonderful meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gadsby's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.