We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual place, enjoyed good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern

Gadsby's Tavern
138 N Royal St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3278 (Old Town)
703-548-1288
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gadsby's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 648 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Cameron Street
Description: Gadsby's Tavern has been offering fine dining since 1770. Enjoy lunch and dinner in one of the elegant Colonial dining rooms. The one-of-a-kind Gadsby's Tavern experience awaits you.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Unusual place, enjoyed good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This tavern has been here for hundreds of years. The staff dress in traditional costume and talk about the ghosts in the building. We sat in a very old room with picture rails, coat hooks and a big fireplace while they played mood music. The menu was mixed with salads, soups, meat etc trying to recreate the atmosphere of the time. The food was good and my DH can recommend the traditional ales. It was empty unfortunately with no atmosphere but would be fantastic if filled with people. I was nervous eating here after dragging in my party of 4 and nobody in but we really enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    110
    83
    44
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate at Gadsby's one night after a long day in D.C. There was a WONDERFUL Italian gentleman that sat us. He chatted and long story short gave my daughter her meal for free because she didn't like the mac n cheese. He also gave her an AMAZING dessert-pudding, fresh fruit and cake. SO YUMMY! The food was great. The Italian Man who sang gets a thumbs up-highly recommend the restaurant just to experience him!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Bit of History, Good Food, and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Is there any other place to dine after a day touring Mount Vernon? After marveling about all of George Washington's accomplishment and touring his estate, we decided to have dinner at Gadsby's Tavern where he and Martha frequented. Thomas Jefferson had his Inauguration at this restaurant as well. We started our meal with the baked Brie...very yummy. I expected it to be sweeter with more jam. For our entrees we shared the crab cakes and duck. Both were good. Not the best we ever had but satisfying. For dessert we had the Berry Heaven and Trifle. Both were tasty and a great way to end a wonderful meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worth a look but skip the food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have visited Alexandria several times and have dined in many wonderful restaurants - this is not one of them. The history and quaint ambience of the tavern are the only things worth the visit. The appetizer recommended by or server was a "puff pastry" filled with a paste of ground ham, crab and salmon supposedly. Just ok. The "jumbo crab cakes" were actually horrible. Dry, 1/2 bread crumbs, no flavor at all and lukewarm. A huge waste for the $26 price. Sides were cold mashed potatoes and steamed veggies both with no seasoning at all. My husband's sauteed spinach had so much salt it had to be remade. The waiter apologized for the "lackluster meal" and provided free dessert which again was just "ok" - a vanilla berry trifle. Visit but don't eat here - save your money for other truly excellent dining choices in Alexandria.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“A Return to the Days of Washington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The tavern is an authentic reproduction of the the pub that was a gathering place for the residents of Alexandria before and after the Revolution. It was a favorite of George Washington and become a hub for the northern Virginia colonists who stood firmly for freedom against the English crown. The food is all right, but nothing to brag about. The menu features a good choices of entree including beef, chicken, pork and fish. Colonial specials are scattered throughout the menu (try the peanut soup for a change of pace) to give guests that sense of dining in the late 18th century. A nice variety of desserts will fill out a meal. Decent wine and beer seletions served by a friendly staff clothed in colonial garb. Clearly a tourtis attraction, Gadsby's is not memorable for high quality dining. It is a great place to take visitors to give them a flavor of the prominent historial roots of Alexandria, but not destination for a dinner. Sit back and relax over a good drink or two as you try to connect with the days of the Revolution. After all, the taverns of that period were places to drink and talk rather than to feast on great food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gadsby's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.