We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern

Gadsby's Tavern
138 N Royal St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3278 (Old Town)
703-548-1288
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gadsby's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 647 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: Cameron Street
Description: Gadsby's Tavern has been offering fine dining since 1770. Enjoy lunch and dinner in one of the elegant Colonial dining rooms. The one-of-a-kind Gadsby's Tavern experience awaits you.
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Spent a week in Alexandria while visiting DC, and decided to try Gadsby's one night, mainly for the history. We didn't know what to expect as far as food quality, so we were very surprised at how much we enjoyed our meal. The ambience was fantastic. Service was good, not the best, but solid. The food was the star of this visit. Hubby had prime rib and I had the beef bordelaise. They were both excellent! We also tried the Smithfield ham biscuit appetizer and wedge salad with horseradish dressing...both very good. For dessert we split the original "burnt creme" dessert which we loved. Literally everything about this meal was topnotch. Prices were average for Old Town, which is not cheap. We were expecting a tourist trap, but instead had one of the best meals of our vacation. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    87
    45
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oak Lawn
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Historic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This restaurant is next to the Gadsby Tavern Museun. Supposedly George Washington and Thomas Jefferson have dined here. It is small and very charming. Lots of atmosphere and very popular especially on weekends. Wait staff dress in period attire. The steaks were very good.
Make a reservation or you probably won't get in. We had a reservation but were seated at a table about 2feet from another table because that was the only table available at 6:00pm. The manager promptly moved us to a just vacated table about 10 min. later because he said he could see I wasn't comfortable with the table. That's excellent service especially since we didn't complain about the seating - there wasn't another choice when we arrived.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really Nice--HISTORY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place and the history of the building is nice as well. Architecture of Old Town Alexandria lives in this building. Great people and atmosphere. Highly recommended for casual dining and relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Met expectations across the board!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went here for our recent anniversary and enjoyed it immensely. The Prime rib was excellent, one of the best we've had. The service was first rate, our waitress both attentive and personable. Ambiance was great, historic down to the wobble in the table. It is not cheap but we enjoyed it. Would recommend it

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Fine.. not overly friendly but, fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stopped in on a Sunday. Only brunch food... which was very good. Waitress did not seem to want to be there but, maybe just a bad day and.. it did not affect our service. Interesting there were no lunch entrees after Noon but, maybe because it was Sunday?

No complaints, interesting place given the history. Worth the stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gadsby's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.