We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had two meals, lunch and dinner here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern

Gadsby's Tavern
138 N Royal St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3278
703-548-1288
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gadsby's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 706 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cameron Street
Description: Gadsby's Tavern has been offering fine dining since 1770. Enjoy lunch and dinner in one of the elegant Colonial dining rooms. The one-of-a-kind Gadsby's Tavern experience awaits you.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We had two meals, lunch and dinner here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were lucky and were seated quickly even though we did not have reservations. Eating where George Washington also did is fun. The food was good and reasonably priced. I liked the peanut soup. Good salads. A reservation might assure seating in the more attractive of the two dining areas.

Helpful?
1 Thank rpassmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“food not so hot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Maybe we should of stuck with burgers but no one liked their food. The waitress was much better. I had to ask for a refill of my water 3 times before she came over. While the history was wonderful with ex-presidents eating there. I would stick with rather simple food. Well the fries were good - I should at least say that.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tntravel1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Splendid service! Amazing history!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived there for a late dinner at 8:45pm (because we got lost) without a reservation. Since the kitchen just closed to my dismay, the bartender offered to set a reservation for us the next evening at 6:30pm. We had our sumptuous dinner there with exceptional friendly service from the waiter, owner and bartender, all dressed in George Washington's time. Hubby loved his huge prime rib and Porter beer, George Washington's favorite. I loved my Port wine and roast duck, George Washington's favorite. After a while of eating it, I found the roast duck too sweet. After dinner, the bartender gave us complimentary champagne as he felt bad we weren't able to have dinner there the previous day. They all went out of their way to have a chat with us and to make sure we had a lovely time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Geaorge Washington used to go there....GOOOOO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Beautiful, make a reservation and pay the extra money....helloooooo George Washington used to drink here! How often can you say you had dinner and drinks where GW used to get drunk :) They have fabulous food so go so you have a story to tell you friends!

Helpful?
Thank no n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very historic and good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lunch was very good. Had crab cake sandwich. Burgers were excellent. Very quiet. Expected George Washington to pop out.
Loved looking at decor and pictures. Will visit museum next time we are in Old Town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing