We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a national treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Vernon, Va

Mt. Vernon, Va
3200 Mount Vernon Memorial Highway, Alexandria, VA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 38 attractions in Alexandria
Attraction Details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
125 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“a national treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I could on and on describing the grounds, mansion, farm, outbuildings and visitor's center, but let me simply direct visitors to the website of Mt. Vernon. I live in Alexandria, and we visit Mt Vernon at least once a month. Just walking around the grounds renews the soul and takes you back to the founding days of our country. The attached restaurant has outstanding American cuisine, and we often take visitors there. And it's hard not to find something you will like at the shop. There is a food court for families, and this has proven to be very popular. If you come to Washington, please don't miss Mt Vernon.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    46
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
567 reviews 567 reviews
255 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Must-do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The historical significance makes it a must-do, but be prepared for a quick rush through the house and unfriendly, seemingly over-worked staffers. The property is very beautiful, so be sure to take time to explore it. Read a guide book, too!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Estate of George Washington, educational and interesting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This restored estate of one of our founding fathers is worth a visit when you are in Washington DC. The grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. The museum and education center very interesting and the gift shop has something for everyone. You can spend a day in the gift shop alone. The mansion is restored to a close likeness of its original condition. You can view the slave quarters, green house, gardens and workshops. The tomb of President Washington and several family members are also found at Mt. Vernon. I recommend taking a boat ride on the Patomic from Mt. Vernon to Washington DC. It is a pleasant ride down the river and a memorable as well as historic trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Idea on a Sunny January Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Daughter gave us tickets for Christmas for a January Sunday AM Mansion tour...No crowds, how nice, but a bit nippy outside, inside was quite warm. Tour was well done, although brief. The museum and exhibits were wonderful, and the orientation film, new to us, was well done, and shouldn't be missed. Only disappointment was the Mount Vernon Inn, where we dined for lunch afterwards. Quite ordinary, nothing special, and tasted more like cafeteria food. With all the fabulous dining options in Old Town, I suggest you dine there instead and have something special!!
All restrooms were quite new and spotless!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go early to beat the crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Beautiful grounds and a great interactive history lesson. We tried to buy tickets online(for eleven people) but they were sold out, so we showed up at opening time and were able to enter with no problem(no lines) and minimal crowds. The tour of the main house is rushed but very nice. The tomb at noon is a must see with a very informative attendant. The slave quarters is very interesting but sad considering the conditions they had to endure. By the time we left at 1PM the lines for mansion tour was 200 people deep and the line to enter the site was long as well, but overall is well worth it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Vernon, Va also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Vernon, Va? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Vernon, Va, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mt. Vernon, Va to your Saves list