We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a little pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brabo Tasting Room

Brabo Tasting Room
1602 King Street, Alexandria, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 662 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good but a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I enjoyed a squash blossom tart which was the special of the evening. It was really good. Both of us really liked the tomato sauce on the tart. At $16 each I think it was kind of high but good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    40
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Good but pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Food and service was excellent but pricey. Glass of wine was 14 dollars. Definitely try the mussels.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous food in a casual, friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The food was so good, we ate here twice while vacationing in Alexandria. We stayed at the Lorien and this wonderful restaurant was on the property and is much more casual than the original Brabo for a bite and a beer after a long day of sight seeing. The Margherita wood fire tart and chilled cucumber soup were divine. The extensive craft beer listing was awesome too! We also loved the grilled eggplant sandwich! The staff was friendly and helpful with food and drink suggestions and the prices were very reasonable for a low key place with high flavor, high quality food and drink!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simple Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stopped by with a group of 5 for a Saturday lunch. What a great find! The food and service was simple great. The menus was creative with lots of choices - many you don't see too often. We started with a pizza as a starter and had mussels served in a frying pan at the table. The broth was to die for. I have passed This place often and it is popular and now I see why! I will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great place for lunch..Great sandwiches and beers to enjoy either on the go or at the hotel. We ate there for lunch twice and both times enjoyed the food. Atmosphere was pretty neat as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brabo Tasting Room also viewed

 

Been to Brabo Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brabo Tasting Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.