We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth looking for...it's kind of tucked away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Happy Tart

The Happy Tart
2307A Mount Vernon Ave, Alexandria, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 34 Bakeries in Alexandria
Cuisines: Bakeries
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth looking for...it's kind of tucked away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were across the street from Dairy Godmother (another great place) when I spotted this place which has a long driveway to the store. Once inside, it's kind of a small place, and they offer pastries that are gluten free, and samples of decorated cakes. I got the pecan tart, lemon curd tart, and a cookied called the chocolate crackle(?).......omg, this is amazing.
Most tarts are kind of sweet even when they say "tart"....not this place. The lemon curd had a good strong lemon flavor that was not sweet, and the pecan tart was rich with the right mix of filling and pecan versus many store bought pecan pies that have more filling than pecans.
This place is worth visiting several times over just to try everything they have...and that means I'm going back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very good gluten-free treats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My friend who lives in the area insisted we stop here to get something for dessert. I've never had gluten-free before and I wasn't sure what to expect. First of all, if you are a new customer there you can get a free sample of their small desserts. I had the lemon curd and it was so good, so refreshing. I also got the vanilla cupcake with salted caramel....I have to say it was a little bland. It was still good but just not what I'm used to. I'm sure those who have a gluten allergy would love this place though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing simple gluten free bakery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This place was so yummy! I'm gluten free (and avoid soy though it's not an allergy) and so although this small bakery had macaroons and a few cupcakes, what we got was DELICIOUS! We had a s'mores cupcake, vanilla cupcake with salted caramel icing (shockingly yummy, I thought it would be rather plain), and a marble cheesecake. The prices were very reasonable. Wish I had remembered to take a picture! They had two benches outside, so it could use more seating. Walk or take the #10 bus route, it's about a mile from the Braddock Rd. Metro stop (blue line).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac du Flambeau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Wedding delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our son and daughter-in-law had The Happy Tart make their wedding cake; it was almond cake with raspberry with butter cream icing. One of the tastiest cakes I have ever enjoyed. They also made a wonderful chocolate caramel sheet cake. Gluten free and delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Pastry Heaven for those with celiac disease”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Gluten free or not, the pastry chef is beyond talented. You must try the flakey butter crust. A few good options for those who are avoiding milk due to allergies. That is one thing this reviewer would love to see expand...more dairy free options for a GF milk allergic child

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Tart also viewed

 

Been to The Happy Tart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Happy Tart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.