We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good gluten-free treats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Happy Tart

The Happy Tart
2307A Mount Vernon Ave, Alexandria, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 670 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Bakeries
Restaurant details
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very good gluten-free treats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My friend who lives in the area insisted we stop here to get something for dessert. I've never had gluten-free before and I wasn't sure what to expect. First of all, if you are a new customer there you can get a free sample of their small desserts. I had the lemon curd and it was so good, so refreshing. I also got the vanilla cupcake with salted caramel....I have to say it was a little bland. It was still good but just not what I'm used to. I'm sure those who have a gluten allergy would love this place though.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Amazing simple gluten free bakery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This place was so yummy! I'm gluten free (and avoid soy though it's not an allergy) and so although this small bakery had macaroons and a few cupcakes, what we got was DELICIOUS! We had a s'mores cupcake, vanilla cupcake with salted caramel icing (shockingly yummy, I thought it would be rather plain), and a marble cheesecake. The prices were very reasonable. Wish I had remembered to take a picture! They had two benches outside, so it could use more seating. Walk or take the #10 bus route, it's about a mile from the Braddock Rd. Metro stop (blue line).

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac du Flambeau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Wedding delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our son and daughter-in-law had The Happy Tart make their wedding cake; it was almond cake with raspberry with butter cream icing. One of the tastiest cakes I have ever enjoyed. They also made a wonderful chocolate caramel sheet cake. Gluten free and delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pastry Heaven for those with celiac disease”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Gluten free or not, the pastry chef is beyond talented. You must try the flakey butter crust. A few good options for those who are avoiding milk due to allergies. That is one thing this reviewer would love to see expand...more dairy free options for a GF milk allergic child

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Decent selection of goodies...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

As others have mentioned Happy Tart sits back off the main road and is hard to see unless your know where to look.
The inside is small,but there is a decent selections of goodies to choose from.
The brownies were good,the almond joy macaroons were good,the mixed berry tarts were just so so.
I would stop in again if in the area and grab some more brownies.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Tart also viewed

 

Been to The Happy Tart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Happy Tart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.