We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite spot for wine in Alexandria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fromagerie Cheese & Wine Bistro

La Fromagerie Cheese & Wine Bistro
1222 King Street, Alexandria, VA
703-879-2467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 612 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch
Description: La Fromagerie's Bistro is the perfect place to enjoy a cheese and meat plate with a glass of wine in a relaxed, intimate atmosphere. Owner and Chef Sebastien Tavel bases his elegant, light fare menu around fresh seasonal food available from local farmers, particularly the heirloom and forageable produce that help support the biodiversity of our area.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite spot for wine in Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It's a great place to stop in for a glass of wine and/or a delicious sandwich or some other light fare. My wife and I are regulars. The staff is excellent and always ready with an intriguing selection of cheese and cured meats. They also do what they can to highlight local/American-made cheeses and have introduced me to a number of delicious varieties.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Is there anything better than having a cheese expert select cheese for your plate and offering the perfect glass of wine to enhance the experience?

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
294 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Basic & Simple Place with good wine selection & quality food !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Alexandra is quaint & historic and up on King St (by S Payne), away from the tourists, is this eatery; halfway between the GW Masonic Mem & the harbor.
If you want table cloths, waiter, resturant flare then this is not the place.
Simple wooden tables and chairs. You can see the food-case in the rear.
Browse the bottles of wine available or just read the several lines of description for the wines they offer by glass. Menu is varied but be aware these are small plates.
Enjoy the chesse selections .... from soft types to hard; then choose meats, if you like, to go with the chesse selections. The platter comes out with bread, dried fruit ! With the wine, sit back, relax, converse ... take it all in.
Back to the menu .... soups, salads, sandwichs, special entrees. French & all here takes you away (if you let it).
Enjoyable change from the usual !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Impressive meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I am not a wine guy by any stretch, but I have come to love the "meat and cheese" format recently. This place is one of the best in that format. They have an impressive selection of meats and cheeses, and seem very knowledgeable about both. Artisanal drinks are a great topper if you are not a wine drinker.
Really liked the atmosphere, most charcuterie places are pretty fancy, this is much more laid back. It is not a big place, only about 10 tables, but hasn't been crowded any time I have been there.
Service was very good, never had to wait for anything, and again, they knew a ton about the choices.
It is very reasonable in price for this kind of meal, though it is still a bit pricey overall.
No problem giving this place 5 stars, it is above and beyond what you expect from a good "fromagerie."

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson ms
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Great Place to Sample New Foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

When my spouse and teen decided on a nearby pub, I wandered down and found this gem. I ordered 3 cheeses - the ring of fire, buttermilk blue and cabra la mancha, along with some country ham. It was served on a wooden board with dried figs and apricots, fresh crostini, a fruit chutney, and some pickles. All of it was delicious and perfect, particularly with a glass of wine they recommended. The background music was really enjoyable and non-intrusive. All in all it was a highlight of my trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fromagerie Cheese & Wine Bistro also viewed

 

Been to La Fromagerie Cheese & Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fromagerie Cheese & Wine Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.