We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek done well” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma's Kitchen

Mamma's Kitchen
7601 Fordson Rd., Alexandria, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Restaurant details
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Greek done well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

While its a Greek place, stone oven baked pizza is fantastic! Gyro platter is good n plenty to eat, natural cut fries could use crisping up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Parmesan-crusted salmon--sort of soggy, lacking flavor
Baked pasta--don't order the 'sausage,' I thought it would be Italian style sausage, but it was thin slices of sausage that made for an interesting--but not good-- combo. Sauce left a lot to be desired.

Greek style vinaigrette was good, as was the stuffed grape leaves.

HUGE cockroach on the floor by the bathrooms...not that all restaurants don't have them, but seems like they would at least sweep it up during dinner time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Local favorite for home style Italian-Greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We love Mamma's. It's a local Italian-Greek spot with a delightful outdoor dining terrace, great food, super pizza, and very easy prices. As locals we go there frequently and especially enjoy the day's specials, which are always excellent. A little hard to find (just off busy Route 1) but a homemade-food oasis in a suburban area without much but "corporate" food offerings. The owner is always on hand and often cooking the special dishes.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Cheap food,but expected more”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

After my recent visit to this family restaurant I do not think I am going to any Greek place. Therefore the portions were quite generous, but food was greasy and too heavy. Take a look behind a counter, so dirty! This place is for people who do not know how to cook and clean!
At last I thought coffee could not be wrong, but it tasted like it was reheated a few times. I would rather spend my money for less, but better quality.
Honest person

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, generous portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a good family restaurant. The food is good, nothing fancy but good. The portions are huge. The service is also good, our waitress was very friendly and helpful. The prices are great for the portions served. Keep in mind that there is not too many choices around this particular neighborhood; if you don't want to drive to old town Alexandria this is the place to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mamma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.